Big Star | Complete Third | CD Box Set

  • Sale
  • $ 31.99
  • Regular price $ 49.99

Includes every demo, rough mix, outtake, alt take and final master known to exist

Extensive liner notes from original participants and artists deeply influenced by Big Star

Contains previously unseen photos

“The small but rabid cult of Big Star, composed initially of rock critics and hometown Memphis hipsters, coalesced around 1972’s #1 Record, which supercharged the legacy of The Beatles and The Byrds, and 1974’s Radio City, which brought additional attitude and poignancy to the recipe. The shimmering brilliance of Big Star’s sound and songs on those two LPs, along with its underdog allure, would have been sufficient to perpetuate the band’s legend. But there was a third album, and that strange beast of a record made all the difference for subsequent generations of fans—many of whom formed bands of their own—who turned each other on to this music as if it were a secret religion or a trippy new drug.” —Excerpt from Bud Scoppa’s Complete Third liner notes.

“Ask any of the original participants who made the record, and none of them would say they expected this album to even see a real release, much less end up on Rolling Stone’s list of the 500 best albums of all time… It’s an amazing snapshot of the artists and the times and circumstances in which the recordings were made. It’s a great testament to Third that an album that almost nobody was interested in at the time of its pressing, is now loved and sought out by an ever growing legion of fans. I guess that’s called ‘ahead of its time.’” —Excerpt from Adam Hill’s Complete Third liner notes.

After almost a decade of searching for unheard session recordings for Big Star’s third album, the wait for the results is finally over! While some demos and alternate versions of songs have dribbled out over the years on various compilations, all extant recordings made for the album are presented here for the first time in Complete Third. The collection boasts 69 total tracks, 29 of which are previously unheard session recordings, demos and alternate mixes made by producer Jim Dickinson and engineer John Fry. The set allows the listener to track the creation of the album from the original demos, through sessions and rough mixes, to the final masters of each song.

Besides the contextualizing main essay from writer/A&R man, Bud Scoppa, extensive notes from original participants and artists influenced by Big Star are also included: Mary Lindsay Dickinson, Mitch Easter, Adam Hill, Elizabeth A. Hoehn, Susanna Hoffs, Peter Holsapple, Gary Louris, Mike Mills, Cheryl Pawelski, Debbi Peterson, Pat Rainer, Danny Graflund, Jeff Rougvie, Pat Sansone, Chris Stamey, Jody Stephens, John Stirratt, Ken Stringfellow, and Steve Wynn.


[CD1: Demos To Sessions To Roughs]
1. Like St. Joan (Kanga Roo) (Demo)
2. Lovely Day* (Demo)
3. Downs (Demo)
4. Femme Fatale (Demo)
5. Thank You Friends (Demo)
6. Holocaust (Demo)
7. Jesus Christ (Demo)
8. Blue Moon (Demo)
9. Nightime (Demo)
10. Take Care (Demo)
11. Big Black Car (Demo #2/Acoustic Take 1)
12. Don’t Worry Baby
13. I’m In Love With A Girl*
14. Big Black Car (Demo #3/Acoustic Take 2)
15. I’m So Tired* – Alex & Lesa
16. That’s All It Took* – Alex & Lesa
17. Pre-Downs*
18. Baby Strange*
19. Big Black Car (Demo #1/Band)
20. Kizza Me* (Dickinson Rough Mix/Alex Guide Vocal)
21. Till The End Of The Day* (Dickinson Rough Mix/Alex Guide Vocal, Kept As Final Vocal)
22. Thank You Friends* (Dickinson Rough Mix/Alex Guide Vocal)
23. O, Dana* (Dickinson Rough Mix)
24. Dream Lover* (Dickinson Rough Mix)

[CD2: Roughs To Demos]
1. Big Black Car* (Dickinson Rough Mix/Alex Guide Vocal)
2. Whole Lotta Shakin’ Goin’ On* Dickinson Rough Mix)
3. Take Care* (Dickinson Rough Mix)
4. Holocaust* (Dickinson Rough Mix)
5. Nightime* (Dickinson Rough Mix)
6. Thank You Friends* (Dickinson Rough Mix)
7. Nature Boy (Live)* (Dickinson Rough Mix)
8. After Hours (Live)* – Lesa
9. Stroke It Noel (Backwards Intro)
10. Lovely Day* (Fry Rough Mix)
11. Till The End Of The Day (Alternate Mix #1)
12. Blue Moon* (Fry Rough Mix)
13. Till The End Of The Day (Alternate Mix #1)
14. Big Black Car (Fry Rough Mix)
15. Holocaust (Fry Alternate/Rough Mix)
16. Downs (Fry Rough Mix)
17. Kanga Roo (Fry Rough Mix)
18. Femme Fatale* (Fry Rough Mix)
19. For You* (Alternate Version/Alex Vocal)
20. Thank You Friends* (Fry Rough Mix)
21. Take Care* (Alternate Version/Alex Vocal)
22. Kizza Me* (Fry Rough Mix)
23. Till The End Of The Day (Fry Rough Mix #2) – Lesa
24. Nature Boy (Fry Rough Mix)
25. Mañana

[CD3: Final Masters]
1. Stroke It Noel
2. Downs
3. Femme Fatale
4. Thank You Friends
5. Holocaust
6. Jesus Christ
7. Blue Moon
8. Kizza Me
9. For You
10. O, Dana
11. Nightime
12. Whole Lotta Shakin’ Goin’ On
13. Kanga Roo
14. Take Care
15. Big Black Car
16. Dream Lover
17. You Can’t Have Me
18. Till The End Of The Day
19. Lovely Day
20. Nature Boy

* Previously Unreleased