Current cart in use:
items - $0.00
Title Qty
your cart is empty


In Stock









We The People
List Price: $30.98
Price: $27.65
You Save: $3.33 (11%)

Vinyl LP pressing of Pasteur Lappe's debut album We, The People. Pasteur's first album was recorded in 1979 with the backing band and production collective called the Zulu Gang, which include Douglas Mbida (who went on to release several top flight albums himself) and Jacob Desvariaux (who went on to form Kassav). The album is full of diverse sounds; from driving funk, sweeping disco grooves, syrupy ballads, reggae, Jackson-five-esque pop to finger-lickin' soul. At it's core though is the custom "Sekele" groove... a movement to encompass the dance, grooves and vibes from his native Douala. The album opens with the pulsing grooves of "More Sekele Movement" which features driving bass groove, snappy percussion and catchy vocal lines from our hero. "Dora" is next. It is a sparkly Afro pop gem with stabby horns and a smooth catchy melody. Things take a slow route for the next track - "Watch Get My Day Dreams" which is a slow smooth vocal number. Lazy Rhodes and a end-of-the-disco sway. It also features Maryse Lappe guesting on vocals. Things heat up on the flip with "Sekelimania (Nku Bilam)" bringing back the funk. Choppy guitar riffs, percussive clarinet and top-of-the-world horns power this smooth power funk along. Next "The Sekele Movement" keeps the horn department busy with it's Afro swing drums, walking bass lines and funky keys. This track was featured on the recent Analog Africa - "Pop Makossa" compilation. A real find. The album closes with a slow and forlorn love song. A partly spoken, partly sung love song which talks of separation and longing. The perfect thoughtful ending to a fine LP.

Title: We The People
Genre: International
Artist(s): Pasteur Lappe
Label: African Seven
Release Date: 1/26/2018
Product Type: LP
UPC: 5055373526324
Item #: 1990752X

You May Also Like