Bauhaus | Mask + In The Flat Field + Crackle: Best Of Bauhaus + Shadow Of Light/Archive | 3 LP + DVD

  • $ 82.99

This bundle contains the following 3 albums Mask, In The Flat Field, Crackle: Best Of Bauhaus and the DVD Shadow Of Light/Archive  


From 1978-1982 Bauhaus surged mercurial through the post-punk music scene, tearing into tense, bass-driven new-wave, T-Rex-esque dark-glam and swirling, clattering, orchestral atmospherics, whilst churning it into a grand, velvet, Rimbaudian hallucination. Managing to expand their sound on Mask, the members of Bauhaus stretched themselves into new areas of music and performance, resulting in an album that was arguably even better than the band’s nearly flawless debut.


In The Flat Field 

Few debut albums have ever arrived as nearly perfectly formed as In the Flat Field. It practically invented what remains for many as the blueprint of goth music. In the Flat Field contains a wide variety of inspirations and ideas. The astonishingly precise rhythm section of David J and Kevin Haskins pulls off a variety of jaw-dropping performances, including the high-paced tension of the title track and the brooding crawl of “Spy in the Cab.” Daniel Ash, much like his longtime hero Mick Ronson, turns out to be a master of turning relatively simple guitar parts into apocalyptic explosions, from the background fills on “St. Vitus Dance” to the brutal descending chords of “Stigmata Martyr.” Murphy, meanwhile, channels as much Iggy Pop as he does Bowie, proving to be no simple copyist of either, able to both maniacally sing-shout and take a somewhat lighter touch throughout. The album concludes with the seven-minute “Nerves,” an aptly titled piece that alternates between understated energy and unleashed power spiraling toward a dramatic ending. In the Flat Field started off Bauhaus’ album career with a near-perfect bang.


Crackle: Best Of Bauhaus 

Bauhaus are the founding fathers of goth rock, creating a minimalistic, overbearingly gloomy style of post-punk rock driven by jagged guitar chords and cold, distant synthesizers. Throughout their brief career, the band explored all the variations on their bleak musical ideas, adding elements of glam rock, experimental electronic rock, funk and heavy metal.

 And now their 1998 compilation Crackle has finally made it onto vinyl. The tracks have been re-sequenced for the format and there's a special substitution of an unreleased hybrid mix of "Bela Lugosi's Dead" featuring a 1982 studio vocal over a live backing track. The two disc set is packaged in a gatefold sleeve and, with under 20 minutes playing time per side, the cut is loud with minimum compression.


Track Listing 

1 Hair of the Dog
2 The Passion of Lovers
3 Of Lilies and Remains
4 Of Lilies and Remains
5 Hollow Hills
6 Kick in the Eye 2
7 In Fear of Fear
8 Muscle in Plastic
9 The Man with X-Ray Eyes
10 Mask

1 Double Dare
2 In the Flat Field
3 A God in An Alcove
4 Dive
5 The Spy in the Cab
6 Small Talk Stinks
7 St. Vitus Dance
8 Stigmata Martyr
9 Nerves

1. Double Dare
2. In The Flat Field
3. The Sanity Assassin
4. The Passion Of Lovers
5. She's in Parties
6. Kick In The Eye
7. Ziggy Stardust
8. Dark Entries
9. Hollow Hills
10. Mask
11. Silent Hedges
12. Bela Lugosi's Dead (Tomb Raider)
13. Terror Couple Kill Colonel
14. Spirit
15. Burning From The Inside
16. Crowds