Bob Dylan | The Bootleg Series Vol. 9: The Witmark Demos: 1962–1964 [Import] | 180g Vinyl 4LP

  • Sale
  • $ 216.99
  • Regular price $ 246.99

Seeing their first commercial release nearly five decades after they were first recorded, the Witmark Demos feature 47 Bob Dylan songs accompanied only by his acoustic guitar, harmonica and occasionally piano. Recorded for his first music publishers between 1962 and 1964, these recordings trace Dylan's dramatic growth as a songwriter from early traditionally-styled songs through social commentaries and ultimately to groundbreaking lyrical genius. While many of these early songs on the Witmark Demos found their way onto Bob Dylan's own albums, 15 have never before been officially released and several more were made famous by other artists, including Peter, Paul and Mary and Stevie Wonder (Blowin' in the Wind), Judy Collins (Tomorrow Is a Long Time) and the Byrds (Mr. Tambourine Man). THE Witmark Demos also feature a deluxe booklet with in-depth liner notes by noted music historian Colin Escott, as well as rare photographs of Bob Dylan captured during the same period as these early recordings. This vinyl edition is pressed on 180 gram and includes a download insert.

- Disc 1 -
1 Man on the Street (Fragment)
2 Hard Times in New York Town
3 Poor Boy Blues
4 Ballad for a Friend
5 Rambling, Gambling Willie
6 Talking Bear Mountain Picnic Massacre Blues
7 Standing on the Highway
8 Man on the Street
9 Blowin in the Wind
10 Long Ago, Far Away
11 A Hard Rains A-Gonna Fall
12 Tomorrow Is a Long Time
13 The Death of Emmett Till
- Disc 2 -
1 Let Me Die in My Footsteps
2 Ballad of Hollis Brown
3 Quit Your Low Down Ways
4 Baby, I'm in the Mood for You
5 Bound to Lose, Bound to Win
6 All Over You
7 I'd Hate to Be You on That Dreadful Day
8 Long Time Gone
9 Talkin John Birch Paranoid Blues
10 Masters of War
11 Oxford Town
12 Farewell
- Disc 3 -
1 Don't Think Twice, It's All Right
2 Walkin Down the Line
3 I Shall Be Free
4 Bob Dylans Blues
5 5. Bob Dylans Dream
6 Boots of Spanish Leather
7 Walls of Red Wing
8 Girl from the North Country
9 Seven Curses
10 Hero Blues
11 Whatcha Gonna Do?
12 Gypsy Lou
- Disc 4 -
1 Ain't Gonna Grieve
2 John Brown
3 Only a Hobo
4 When the Ship Comes in
5 The Times They Are A-Changin
6 Paths of Victory