Bonnie Raitt | Nine Lives | Limited Edition, Original Master Recording CD

  • $ 14.98

Produced by George Massenburg (Linda Ronstadt) and Bill Payne of Little Feat, LIVES is full of slick '80s production: big-sounding guitars, smooth jazz trimmings and sanitized rhythm arrangements. There are also contributions from some of the biggest pop songwriters of the time. Song doctors solicited include Will Jennings (who co-wrote "Stand Up To The Night," a number used in the Farrah Fawcett comeback Extremities) and the team of Bryan Adams and Jim Vallance ("No Way To Treat A Lady").
Raitt's cover choices include a loving rendition of Toots Hibbert's "True Love Is Hard To Fine" (featuring Raitt's hero Sippie Wallace on harmonies) and "Angel," yet another Eric Kaz gem. Inexplicably, however, NINE LIVES failed commercially at a time when similar records by Eric Clapton and Steve Winwood did well.

Track Listing:

1. No Way to Treat a Lady
2. Runnin' Back to Me
3. Who But a Fool (Thief Into Paradise)
4. Crime of Passion
5. All Day, All Night
6. Stand Up to the Night
7. Excited
8. Freezin' (For a Little Human Love)
9. True Love Is Hard to Find
10. Angel