David Bowie | David Bowie | Deluxe Edition 180g Vinyl 2LP [UK Import]

  • Sale
  • $ 27.98
  • Regular price $ 27.99

UK double vinyl LP pressing of this self-titled album from the Rock legend containing the mono mix of the album on the first LP and the stereo mix on the second.

Originally released in 1967, this deluxe vinyl reissue comprises original stereo and mono mixes of the album stunningly remastered by Peter Mew and Tris Penna at Abbey Road Studios, making this the first time that the mono mix has been available in any format since the late '60s.

Decca. 2010.

After a few years of cutting R&B covers and shouty Beatle/Who knock-offs, David Bowie graduated to the sort of dizzying musical experimentation which was soon to make him the stuff of legend. DAVID BOWIE shows a Bowie far removed from of Davie Jones the King Bees or Manish Boys, well on his way to the eclectic luminary status he was soon to achieve.

DAVID BOWIE is a surprisingly sprawling affair--composed entirely by the 19-year old Bowie, it reflects a drastic movement from the imitative, R&B-tinged early efforts to a staggering musical complexity and often-abstract poetic wordplay.Embracing the hyper-dramatic efforts of then-man-about-town Anthony Newley ("Uncle Arthur," "Please Mr. Gravedigger,") Bowie works in bizarre, lyrical dreamscapes which must have made the young Robyn Hitchcock swoon--namely the stand-out arpeggiated guitar and medieval melodic tone of "Come And Buy My Toys." Soon enough, the cheeky musical theater atmosphere would disappear, and a parade of successive reincarnations would continue to redefine popular music for decades to come.

LP Track Listing:

1 Uncle Arthur (Mono Mix)
2 Sell Me a Coat (Mono Mix)
3 Rubber Band (Mono Mix)
4 Love You Till Tuesday (Mono Mix)
5 There Is a Happy Land (Mono Mix)
6 We Are Hungry Men (Mono Mix)
7 When I Live My Dream (Mono Mix)
8 Little Bombardier (Mono Mix)
9 Silly Boy Blue (Mono Mix)
10 Come and Buy My Toys (Mono Mix)
11 Join the Gang (Mono Mix)
12 She's Got Medals (Mono Mix)
13 Maid of Bond Street (Mono Mix)
14 Please Mr. Gravedigger (Mono Mix)
15 Uncle Arthur (Stereo Mix)
16 Sell Me a Coat (Stereo Mix)
17 Rubber Band (Stereo Mix)
18 Love You Till Tuesday (Stereo Mix)
19 There Is a Happy Land (Stereo Mix)
20 We Are Hungry Men (Stereo Mix)
21 When I Live My Dream (Stereo Mix)
22 Little Bombardier (Stereo Mix)
23 Silly Boy Blue (Stereo Mix)
24 Come and Buy My Toys (Stereo Mix)
25 Join the Gang (Stereo Mix)
26 She's Got Medals (Stereo Mix)
27 Maid of Bond Street (Stereo Mix)
28 Please Mr. Gravedigger (Stereo Mix)