David Gilmour | Rattle That Lock | 180g Vinyl LP

  • $ 29.99

The voice and guitar of Pink Floyd!

Rattle That Lock is the new solo album by David Gilmour, the voice and guitar of Pink Floyd. This is David's fourth solo album, and the first since 2006's # 1 album On An Island. The primary lyricist for Rattle That Lock is Gilmour's long-term writing partner, Polly Samson, and the album is co-produced by David Gilmour and Roxy Music's Phil Manzanera.

Single heavyweight vinyl LP:

  • Mastered by James Guthrie and Joel Plante at das boot/Bernie Grundman Mastering.
  • Gatefold sleeve, photo inner bags, full color labels
  • Full size 16-page photo/lyric booklet including artist photographs by Kevin Westenberg and album session photographs by Polly Samson
  • Download card

Rattle That Lock is David Gilmour's fourth solo album and follows his 2006 #1 in the UK record On An Island (although in the interim there was of course the Pink Floyd release The Endless River; which went to No 1 in 21 countries).

Rattle That Lock includes 10 songs, all with music by David: 5 with lyrics by novelist Polly Samson, 2 by David himself and 3 instrumentals. French composer Michaïl Boumendil has also contributed to the title track.

The title track, –Rattle That Lock", begins with the four notes, created by Michaïl Boumendil, which precede announcements at French SNCF railway stations which Gilmour recorded on his phone at Aix-en-Provence station. Samson's lyrics are inspired by Book II of John Milton's Paradise Lost, which is also featured in her recent acclaimed novel, The Kindness. The single also features The Liberty Choir and singers Mica Paris and Louise Marshall.

The album was recorded at various places, including David's Astoria houseboat studio and in Hove, Sussex, UK. As with On An Island, production was by David Gilmour and Roxy Music's Phil Manzanera, with engineering by Andy Jackson, assisted by Damon Iddins.

Rattle That Lock's striking cover was art directed by Dave Stansbie from The Creative Corporation under the creative directorship of Aubrey Powell from Hipgnosis. Front cover photograph is by Rupert Truman of StormStudios, while artist photographs in the various release formats are by Kevin Westenberg, with recording session photographs by Polly Samson.

LP Track Listings:

Side 1

1 5 A.M.

2. Rattle That Lock

3. Faces Of Stone

4. A Boat Lies Waiting

5. Dancing Right In Front Of Me

Side 2

1. In Any Tongue

2. Beauty

3. The Girl In The Yellow Dress

4. Today

5. And ThenÄ