Dead Can Dance | SpiritChaser | 180 Vinyl LP

  • $ 26.98

Spiritchaser, Dead Can Dance’s seventh album, was released in 1996 and was the final studio album the band released with 4AD (it was to be another 16 years until they reconvened to make their eighth, Anastasis). Again recording at Brendan’s Quivvy
Church in Ireland and as hinted at by the album’s title, the band had moved their focus away from the traditional medieval and Eastern sound of their middle albums to work with African and Caribbean tribal rhythms. Still unmistakeably Dead Can Dance, percussion is at the forefront throughout Spiritchaserand despite contributions from Ronan O’Snodaigh, Renaud Pion, Lance Hogan, Robert Perry and Peter Ulrich on a few tracks, the album is mostly just Perry and Gerrard. In fine voice throughout, like their whole career’s work, their strong singing remains the centerpiece.

A1. Nierika
A2. Song Of The Stars
B1. Indus
B2. Song Of The Dispossessedpopmarket
B3. Dedicacé Outò
C1. The Snake And The Moon
C2. Song Of The Nile
D1. Devorzhum