Elvis Costello | Taking Liberties | 180g Vinyl LP

  • Sale
  • $ 24.98
  • Regular price $ 29.99

Since he burst on the music scene in 1977, Elvis Costello waxed more sides than Columbia was able to fit onto his first four albums. 1980's Taking Liberties is a compilation of those tracks - unreleased masters, rare B-sides, English album cuts and collectors items. Elvis proves himself the most versatile young singer-entertainer of the day here with twenty exciting numbers delivered in a score of different, distinctive styles.

Hear the irrepressible Costello switch abruptly and with amazing skill from the solid rock-n'-roll beat of "(I Don't Want To Go To) Chelsea" to the gentle, touching mood of "My Funny Valentine"; from the low down gutty blues spirit of "Clowntime Is Over" to the earthy, heart-warming throb of "Stranger In the House"; from the easy going, country stroll of "Radio Sweetheart" to the swinging rhythm & blues tempo of "Getting Mighty Crowded."

That's the way it goes through this whole dynamic album - one change of pace after another. Yet never changing is the powerful, unique voice of Elvis Costello as it dominates and controls every song. And, as always, instrumental backing by the fabulous Attractions adds a fiery vigor to the proceedings. Still in his early-20's at the time, Elvis clearly demonstrates here that his potential and versatility were practically unlimited. Taking Liberties is now available on vinyl for the first time since its original release in 1980!


LP Track Listing:

Side A

1. Clean Money

2. Girls Talk

3. Talking In the Dark

4. Radio Sweetheart

5. Black and White World

6. Big Tears

7. Just A Memory

8. Night Rally

9. Stranger In the House

10. Clowntime Is Over

Side B

1. Getting Mighty Crowded

2. Hoover Factory

3. Tiny Steps

4. (I Don't Want To Go To) Chelsea

5. Dr. Luther's Assistant

6. Sunday's Best

7. Crawling to the U.S.A.

8. Wednesday Week

9. My Funny Valentine

10. Ghost Trai