Erasure | Other People's Songs | 180g Vinyl LP

  • $ 24.99

With an eclectic selection of songs by artists including Buddy Holly, Peter Gabriel and The Righteous Brothers, Vince and Andy chose tracks that had influenced them as musicians which are brought together by Vince's distinctive instrumentation and Andy's unmistakable voice.

The album was originally conceived as a solo project for singer Andy Bell. Once Vince Clarke, the other member of Erasure, became involved, it was released as Erasure's tenth studio album. The tracks were handpicked by Clarke and Bell as ones that influenced them as musicians. It was originally released in the UK and the U.S. by Mute Records in 2003, and was a Top 20 success in their home country and in Germany.

Other People's Songs gave Erasure their first Top 10 on the UK singles chart in nine years. The album was produced by Erasure with Gareth Jones and Dave Bascombe. Because of Bell's resistance to remaking the classic "Video Killed the Radio Star", the verses are "sung" synthetically by a computer.

LP Track Listing:

1. Solsbury Hill (originally by Peter Gabriel)

2. Everybody's Got to Learn Sometime (originally by The Korgis)

3. Make Me Smile (Come Up and See Me) (originally by Steve Harley & Cockney Rebel)

4. Everyday (originally by Buddy Holly)

5. When Will I See You Again (originally by The Three Degrees)

6. Walking in the Rain (originally by The Ronettes)

7. True Love Ways (originally by Buddy Holly)

8. Ebb Tide (originally by The Righteous Brothers)

9. Can't Help Falling in Love (originally by Elvis Presley)

10. You've Lost That Lovin' Feelin' (originally by The Righteous Brothers)

11. Goodnight (originally by Cliff Eberhardt)

12. Video Killed the Radio Star (originally by The Buggles)