Free | The Vinyl Collection | 180g 7LP Vinyl Box Set

  • $ 184.99

Newly Remastered From The Original Master Tapes On 180g Vinyl

Formed in London in 1968, Free are regarded as one of the primary innovators of Blues rock. They hit mainstream global success in 1970 and played to over 600,000 people at the Isle of Wight festival that same year. By the time they had disbanded in 1973 they had released 6 studio albums, sold over 20 million albums and played over 700 shows. Their biggest and best known track All Right Now is reputed to be played somewhere in the world on radio every minute of the day and has been entered into ASCAP's 'One Million' airplay singles club.

Free are regarded as one of the innovators of Blues rock that went on to influence a host of bands throughout the following decades. Rolling Stone referred to the band as "British hard rock pioneers", ranking singer Paul Rodgers # 55 in its list of the '100 Greatest Singers of All Time' and guitarist Paul Kossoff at #51 of '100 Greatest Guitarists of All Time'.

This 7-LP box set, housed in a sturdy box features the albums in their original form; they have been newly re-mastered from the original tapes by Andy Pearce to enhance the sound of these classic albums and will have original art work.

Released in the UK in 1969, it was legendarily recorded for only £800. The album failed to chart at the time but tracks remained in the band's live repertoire for many years after.

Produced by the head of Island Records, Chris Blackwell, the band's second album managed a respectable #22 in the UK charts.

Fire and Water is the bands third studio album The album became the band's breakthrough hit, reaching #2 in the UK charts and #17 in the US, making it the most successful Free album. The album contained the hit single "All Right Now".

Released in 1970 is a low-key and introspective album compared with its predecessors. From a writing point of view Highway continued in the same vein as previous albums, with Paul Rodgers and Andy Fraser collaborating on seven of the nine songs. Paul Kossoff preferred the more serious, weighty songs on the album such as "Be My Friend", which he saw as an antidote to the "frivolity" of "All Right Now".

The fifth album was released in 1971 after the band had split up and reformed; it was the last album to feature Andy Fraser who left soon after the album was recorded.

Heartbreaker was the bands sixth and final studio album it provided them with one of their most successful singles, "Wishing Well". The album was, by Free's standards, a huge success. It became their third top-ten album in the UK (reaching #9), and reached No. 47 in America.

Free Live! was released by Island Records to commemorate the band, who had broken up in April 1971. The album was a hit, reaching #4 in the UK album charts.

One of the most prolific blues-rock acts to emerge from Britain in the late 60s, Free released six albums in the space of four years. Boasting the powerhouse vocals of frontman Paul Rodgers, the virtuoso fret-work of guitarist Paul Kossof, and the rock-solid rhythm section of drummer Simon Kirke and the late Andy Fraser, Free commandeered the charts in both the US and UK with their undisputed classic album Fire And Water, laying the template for the hard rock sound that would find prominence in 70s.

The 7 LP box set Free: The Vinyl Collection pulls together all six of the group's studio albums, plus their 1971 concert recording, Free Live!, providing the fullest picture yet of the band in all their glory.
'All Right Now' might remain Free's calling card _ it reputedly receives radio play at least once every minute somewhere around the globe _ but the group's entire discography is worthy of reappraisal. Recorded for a mere £800, their debut, Tons Of Sobs, was issued in March 1969 and charted higher in the US than it did the UK. Containing many band favorites, it set the scene for Free, produced by Island Records founder Chris Blackwell, and an album that, released just seven months after its predecessor, leapt up the UK charts to hit No.22.

By now the world was primed for the blues-rock behemoth that would become Fire And Water (now available as part of the acclaimed Abbey Road Half Speed Mastering series). Released in summer 1970, it effortlessly hit No.2 in the UK and No.17 in the US, while its evergreen second single, 'All Right Now', confidently shot to the Top 5 in both countries. Yet the remarkably prolific Free weren't stopping there. Highway came hot on its heels, in December 1970: a more low-key recording that revealed the group's versatility.

Following a brief hiatus (during which Island released Free Live!, a UK No.4 album that showed the world the sort of magic they worked up on the live stage _ as memorably captured on film during their appearance at the 1970 Isle Of Wight Festival), the group's original line-up reconvened for 1972's Free At Last. Seven months later, it was all over _ and all too soon. Final outing Heartbreaker was recorded without Andy Fraser, but with Tetsu Yamauchi in his place, along with additional member, pianist John "Rabbit" Bundrick. Free's third Top 10 UK album, it also included 'Wishing Well', which, upon its original release, reached No.7 in the UK singles chart.

As if Free's lasting legacy weren't enough, these albums also set the band's individual members on their highly successful career paths, not least Paul Rodgers, who would go on to found hard rockers Bad Company, form the Jimmy Page collaboration The Firm, and also front Queen from 2005 to 2009.
More than –all right now", these recordings stand the test of time, remaining essential for any self-respecting blues and hard rock fan.

Track Listing:

LP 1: Tons Of Sobs
1. Over The Green Hills Pt. I
2. Worry
3. Walk In My Shadow
4. Wild Indian Woman
5. Goin' Down Slow
6. I'm A Mover
7. The Hunter
8. Moonshine
9. Sweet Tooth
10. Over The Green Hills Pt. II

LP 2: Free
1. I'll Be Creepin'
2. Songs Of Yesterday
3. Lying In The Sunshine
4. Trouble On Double Time
5. Mouthful Of Grass
6. Woman
7. Free Me
8. Broad Daylight
9. Mourning Sad Morning

LP 3: Fire And Water
1. Fire And Water
2. Oh I Wept
3. Remember
4. Heavy Load
5. Mr. Big
6. Don't Say You Love Me
7. All Right Now (Long Version)

LP 4: Highway
1. The Highway Song
2. The Stealer
3. On My Way
4. Be My Friend
5. Sunny Day
6. Ride On A Pony
7. Love You So
8. Bodie
9. Soon I Will Be Gone

LP 5: Free At Last
1. Catch A Train
2. Soldier Boy
3. Magic Ship
4. Sail On
5. Travellin' Man
6. Little Bit Of Love
7. Guardian Of The Universe
8. Child
9. Goodbye

LP 6: Heartbreaker
1. Wishing Well
2. Come Together In The Morning
3. Travellin In Style
4. Heartbreaker
5. Muddy Water
6. Common Mortal Man
7. Easy On My Soul
8. Seven Angels

LP 7: Live
1. All Right Now
2. I'm A Mover
3. Be My Friend
4. Fire And Water
5. Ride On Pony
6. Mr Big
7. The Hunter
8. Get Where I Belong