Mickey Hart | Planet Drum | Limited Edition 180g Vinyl 2LP

  • Sale
  • $ 31.99
  • Regular price $ 34.98

Limited double 180gm vinyl LP pressing.

Includes three bonus tracks not on the original release: Sea of Showers, Throat Games, and The Spot.

Planet Drum is a world music album by Mickey Hart, a musician and musicologist who was a member of the rock band the Grateful Dead. Hart's concept for Planet Drum was to play drum music with percussionists from around the world, and incorporate their different musical styles and traditions into a new global sound. The musicians on the Planet Drum album were from the United States (Hart), India (Zakir Hussain and T.H. Vikku Vinayakram), Nigeria (Sikiru Adepoju and Babatunde Olatunji), Brazil (Airto Moreira and his wife, vocalist Flora Purim), and Puerto Rico (Giovanni Hidalgo and Frank Col—n). Planet Drum won the Grammy Award for Best World Music Album of 1991, the first year for which the award was given. It reached #1 on the Billboard chart for Top World Music Albums.

Track Listing:

- Disc 1 -
1 Udu Chant
2 Island Groove
3 Light Over Shawdow
4 Dance of the Hunter's Fire

- Disc 2 -
1 Jewe 'You Are the One
2 The Hunt
3 Temple Caves
4 The Dancing Sorcerer
5 Bones

- Disc 3 -
1 Lost River
2 Evening Samba
3 Iyanu 'Surprises'
4 Mysterious Island

- Disc 4 -
1 Sea of Showers
2 Throat Games
3 The Spot