Johnny Cash | The Legend | Deluxe Book & CD Box Set

  • $ 244.99

Johnny Cash: The Legend is easily the most far-reaching collection ever assembled in celebration of the pathfinding work of the “Man in Black.” Singer and songwriter, sinner and Christian, John R. Cash, son of a sharecropper from the dirt-poor, cotton-farming town of Kingsland, Ark., battled his demons on stages from Folsom Prison to Carnegie Hall. Weilding an acoustic guitar and his patented “boom-chicka-boom” Tennessee two-beat, Cash essayed a multifarious repertoire that drew from nearly every page of the American Roots Music Songbook. From sacred to strung out, mountain ballads to rockabilly boogie, tales of the range, the road, the rails, and home-sweet-home, and love songs from the public domain to Dylan, and beyond, Cash would not be pigeonholed. 

The four-CD set, covering the years 1955 to 2002, commemorates the Golden Anniversary of Cash’s recording career; his debut-on-disc was for the fabled Sun label, one of the seven record companies from whose archives this anthology draws in order to paint a many-sided musical portrait of JOHNNY CASH: THE LEGEND. The majority of the 104 songs herein (28 of them written or co-written by Cash) were made for Columbia, for which he was a best-selling artist from 1958 to 1986; seven selections are previously unreleased.

In addition to the four discs, it also includes a fifth disc, "Johnny Cash on the Air", featuring a 1955 recording of Cash's first-ever radio apperance. Also included is a DVD, "Johnny Cash: The First 25 Years", which contains the complete 1980 CBS TV special, and a lithograph portrait of Cash by Marc Burkhardt. The entire package is housed in a 12" x 16" hard-cover book.


Track Listings:

 Disc One: Win, Place And Show –  The Hits

   1.   I Walk The Line

   2.   There You Go

   3.   Home Of The Blues

   4.   Ballad Of A Teenage Queen

   5.   Guess Things Happen That Way

   6.   The Ways Of A Woman In Love 

   7.   Don't Take Your Guns To Town

   8.   Ring Of Fire 

   9.   The Matador 

  10.   Understand Your Man 

  11.   The Ballad Of Ira Hayes 

  12.   Orange Blossom Special 

  13.   The One On The Right Is On The Left 

  14.   Rosanna's Going Wild 

  15.   Folsom Prison Blues (Live)

  16.   Daddy Sang Bass 

  17.   A Boy Named Sue (Live)

  18.   What Is Truth 

  19.   Sunday Mornin' Comin' Down 

  20.   Flesh And Blood 

  21.   Man In Black 

  22.   A Thing Called Love

  23.   Kate 

  24.   Oney

  25.   Any Old Wind That Blows 

  26.   One Piece At A Time 

  27.   (Ghost) Riders In The Sky 


Disc Two: Old Favorites And New

   1.   Hey Porter

   2.   Cry Cry Cry

   3.   Luther Played The Boogie

   4.   Get Rhythm

   5.   Give My Love To Rose 

   6.   I Was There When It Happened 

   7.   Big River

   8.   I Still Miss Someone 

   9.   Pickin' Time 

  10.   The Man On The Hill 

  11.   Five Feet High And Rising 

  12.   Tennessee Flat-Top Box 

  13.   I Got Stripes 

  14.   Troublesome Waters 

  15.   The Long Black Veil 

  16.   Dark As A Dungeon 

  17.   The Wall 

  18.   25 Minutes To Go 

  19.   Cocaine Blues (Live)

  20.   Doin' My Time* 

  21.   I Will Rock And Roll With You 

  22.   Without Love 

  23.   The Big Light 

  24.   Highway Patrolman 

  25.   I'm Never Gonna Roam Again* 

  26.   When I'm Gray* 

  27.   Forever Young 


Disc Three: The Great American Songbook

   1.   The Wreck Of The Old 97 

   2.   Rock Island Line 

   3.   Goodnight Irene 

   4.   Goodbye, Little Darlin' 

   5.   Born To Lose 

   6.   Walking The Blues 

   7.   Frankie's Man, Johnny 

   8.   Delia's Gone 

   9.   In The Jailhouse Now 

  10.   Waiting For A Train 

  11.   Casey Jones 

  12.   The Legend Of John Henry's Hammer 

  13.   I've Been Working On The Railroad* 

  14.   Sweet Betsy From Pike 

  15.   The Streets Of Laredo 

  16.   Bury Me Not On The Lone Prairie 

  17.   Down In The Valley* 

  18.   Wabash Cannonball 

  19.   The Great Speckle Bird 

  20.   Wildwood Flower 

  21.   Cotton Fields (The Cotton Song) 

  22.   Pick A Bale O' Cotton 

  23.   Old Shep 

  24.   I'll Be All Smiles Tonight 

  25.   I'm So Lonesome I Could Cry 

  26.   Time Changes Everything 


Disc Four: Family And Friends

   1.   Keep On The Sunny Side (with The Carter Family)

   2.   Diamonds In The Rough (with Mother Maybelle Carter)

   3.   (There'll Be) Peace In the Valley (with The Carter Family)

   4.   Were You There (When They Crucified My Lord) (with The Carter Family)

   5.   Another Man Done Gone (with Anita Carter)

   6.   Pick The Wildwood Flower (with Mother Maybelle Carter)

   7.   Jackson (with June Carter)

   8.   If I Were A Carpenter (with June Carter Cash)

   9.   Girl From The North Country (with Bob Dylan)

  10.   One More Ride (with Marty Stuart)

  11.   You Can't Beat Jesus Christ (with Billy Joe Shaver)*

  12.   There Ain't No Good Chain Gang (with Waylon Jennings)

  13.   We Ought To Be Ashamed (with Elvis Costello)

  14.   Crazy Old Soldier (with Ray Charles)

  15.   That Silver Haired Daddy Of Mine (with Tommy Cash)

  16.   Who's Gene Autry? (with John Carter Cash)

  17.   The Night Hank Williams Came To Town (with Waylon Jennings)

  18.   I Walk The Line (Revisited) (with Rodney Crowell)

  19.   Highwayman (with Willie Nelson, Krist Kristofferson and Waylon Jennings)

  20.   The Wanderer (U2 Starring Johnny Cash)

  21.   September When It Comes (with Roseanne Cash)

  22.   Tears In The Holston River (with The Nitty Gritty Dirt Band)

  23.   Far Side Banks Of Jordan (with June Carter Cash)

  24.   It Takes One To Know Me (with June Carter Cash, guest vocal by Carlene Carter)*


*Previously Unreleased


BONUS DVD – selections from Johnny Cash: The First 25 Years

1. The Man In Black

2. Hey Porter

3. Sunday Mornin’ Comin’ Down (with Krist Kristofferson)

4. You’re A Part Of Me (with June Carter Cash)

5. Pick The Wildwood Flower (with Mother Maybelle Carter)

6. Folsom Prison Blues

7. There Ain't No Good Chain Gang (with Waylon Jennings)

8. Ragged Old Flag

9. A Boy Named Sue

10. We Got Paid By Cash (The Statler Brothers)

11. Blue Suede Shoes (with Carl Perkins)

12. I Walk The Line/Ring Of Fire (with Krist Kristofferson, Waylon Jennings and Larry Gatlin)

13. Will The Cirlce Be Unbroken (with the Carter Sisters and the Statler Brothers)


Originally aired on CBS Television 3/12/80

BONUS CD – Johnny Cash: On The Air

1. KWEM Announcements and Advertisements

2. Johnny Cash Show Intro and Theme

3. Wide Open Road

4. Home Equipment Company Advertisement

5. One More Ride

6. Home Equipment Company Advertisement/Luther Perkins Intro

7. Luther’s Boogie

8. Belshazzar Intro

9. Belshazzar

10. Closing Comments and Theme

11. Overton Park Shell “Country Music Jamboree” Advertisement by “Texas” Bill Strength, broadcast August 4, 1955


Tracks 1 through 10 probably recorded late 1954 in Memphis

All bonus CD Tracks Previoulsy Unreleased