Mark Knopfler | Privateering | Vinyl LP

  • $ 24.99

Privateering is Mark Knopfler's first double album in a 35-year recording career. These 20 tracks of consummately crafted folk, blues, country and rock originals reflect the creative exuberance of an artist whose exceptional abilities were recognized with a Lifetime Achievement Award at this year's Ivor Novellos. He has performed live in front of countless millions. He has collaborated with artists of the stature of Bob Dylan, Randy Newman, Emmylou Harris and Van Morrison. He has composed distinctive soundtracks for such classic films as Local Hero, The Princess Bride, Last Exit To Brooklyn and Wag The Dog. He has been regularly acclaimed as one of the greatest guitarists in the world. But what he sees himself as, first and foremost, is a songwriter. And this may be his finest-ever collection. Recorded in Mark's own studio, British Grove, Privateering is a smart, subtle, soulful and utterly superb collection of songs from a class act with an unbeatable band. These are tough tales of real people, living hard lives in difficult times. And it is all carried off with the self-confident bravado of a latter-day privateer. The cover, featuring a battered van and a shaggy dog, says it all.

LP Track Listings:

LP 1 _ Side A

1. Redbud Tree

2. Haul Away

3. Don't Forget Your Hat

4. Privateering

5. Miss You Blues

LP 1 _ Side B

1. Corned Beef City

2. Go, Love

3. Hot or What

4. Yon Two Crows

5. Seattle

LP 2 _ Side A

1. Kingdom of Gold

2. Got To Have Something

3. Radio City Serenade

4. I Used To Could

5. Gator Blood

LP 2 _ Side B

1. Bluebird

2. Dream of the Drowned Submariner

3. Blood and Water

4. Today Is Okay

5. After The Bean Stalk