Miles Davis | Seven Steps: The Complete Columbia Recordings of Miles Davis 1963-1964 | 7 CD Set

  • $ 104.99

In the 1960s, trumpeter Miles Davis became a star outside of the jazz world, first with what history refers to as "the Quintet" with Wayne Shorter and Herbie Hancock, then with his highly influential post-BITCHES BREW electric bands. But there was a "transitional" period, after John Coltrane left Davis's employ and before the Shorter/Hancock era, which the SEVEN STEPS box set based around the SEVEN STEPS TO HEAVEN album documents in its entirety, often in a live context. SEVEN STEPS includes material originally available on the early-'60s albums IN EUROPE and FOUR & MORE, among others, with the inclusion of eight previously unreleased tracks.
  • 50 Tracks on 7 CDs
  • Contains 8 Previously Unreleased Tracks / 3 tracks in unedited form for 1st time!
  • Features Wayne Shorter, George Coleman, Sam Rivers, Herbie Hancock, Victor Feldman, Ron Carter, Tony Williams and Frank Butler.
  • Covers such classic LPs as SEVEN STEPS TO HEAVEN, MY FUNNY VALENTINE, MILES DAVIS IN EUROPE and FOUR & MORE, among others.
  • Captures Miles around the world! _ Juan-les-Pins, France, Berlin, Tokyo, Los Angeles and New York!
  • 92-page booklet with extensive liner notes, full discography of time period and many rare and previously unpublished photos of all the musicians.
  • Sonically superior _ 24-BIT DIGITALLY REMASTERED


Track Listings:

Disc 1
1. Joshua *
2. I Fall In Love Too Easily
3. Baby Won't You Please Come Home
4. So Near, So Far
5. Basin Street Blues
6. Seven Steps To Heaven (take 3) *
7. Seven Steps To Heaven (take 5) *
8. Summer Night

Disc 2
1. Seven Steps To Heaven (rehearsal take) *
2. Seven Steps To Heaven (Album Version)
3. So Near, So Far
4. Joshua
5. Introduction by Andre Francis
6. Autumn Leaves
7. Milestones
8. I Thought About You

Disc 3
1. Joshua
2. All Of You
3. Walkin'
4. Bye Bye Blackbird *
5. Bye Bye (Theme) *

Disc 4
1. Introduction By Mort Fega
2. Autumn Leaves *
3. So What
4. Stella by Starlight
5. Walkin'
6. All Of You
7. Go-Go (Theme And Announcement)

Disc 5
1. Introduction by Billy Taylor
2. All Blues
3. My Funny Valentine
4. Joshua
5. I Thought About You
6. Four
7. Seven Steps To Heaven
8. There Is No Greater Love
9. Go-Go (Theme And Re-Introduction)

Disc 6
1. Introduction by Teruo Isono
2. If I Were A Bell
3. My Funny Valentine
4. So What
5. Walkin'
6. All Of You
7. Go-Go (Theme)

Disc 7
1. Milestones
2. Autumn Leaves
3. So What
4. Stella by Starlight *
5. Walkin'
6. Go-Go (Theme)

* Previously Unissued