Pixies | Surfer Rosa | 180g Vinyl LP

  • $ 21.99

Ranked 315/500 on Rolling Stone Magazine's 500 Greatest Albums of All Time.

The Plymouth Rock on which alternative rock was founded, the Pixies' Surfer Rosa forever altered the music environment even if it did take most of the world a few years to catch up with its brilliance. Internationally acknowledged as a pioneering record, its rollercoaster blend of harsh and soft tempos, male and female singing, intense punk and bubblegum pop tones, dark and light quips, and off-kilter sensibilities is the influential equivalent of the Velvet Underground's oft-cited 1967 debut.

The 1987 debut established the Pixies as otherworldly visionaries whose songs such as the insistent 'Bone Machine,' badgering 'Something Against You,' and sensual 'Cactus' remain ahead of the curve. Having analog fanatic and noise aficionado Steve Albini working production ensured that the music would retain a requisite rawness and in-your-face sonic signature that paralleled the fundamentally chaotic, compulsive characteristics of the Pixies' songs.

LP Track Listing:

1. Bone Machine
2. Break My Body
3. Something Against You
4. Broken Face
5. Gigantic
6. River Euphrates
7. Where Is My Mind?
8. Cactus
9. Tony's Theme
10. Oh My Golly!
11. Vamos
12. I'm Amazed
13. Brick is Red