Public Image Ltd | Metal Box (Super Deluxe) | 4xLP

  • $ 299.99

With all lyrics written by John Lydon 'Metal Box' was recorded with original PiL members Keith Levene and Jah Wobble. Original drummer Jim Walker had left, to be replaced by a succession of drummers. 'Metal Box' came out less than a year after PiL's debut 'Public Image: First Issue' yet it was nothing like its predecessor. Things had changed, and so had PiL. 

While outside pressures mounted PiL channeled their energies (negative and positive) into a record that would set them apart back in 1979, and indeed today in 2016. Whether it be John's powerful and passionate vocals; Keith's wailing guitar and melodic synths; Wobble's sub-disco reggae basslines; or the crashing rhythm that holds it all together, 'Metal Box' has many strengths. The album was originally released as 3 x 45rpm 12” singles, housed in a metal 'film' canister. As made by 'The Metal Box Company' in London's East End; hence the name. The deluxe edition includes rare and unreleased mixes from the recording sessions, along with B-sides and BBC sessions, plus a live recording from a now legendary unplanned show at Factory Records Russell Club in Manchester arranged on the day of a Granada TV appearance.

Track Listing 

LP 1 & 2:
‘Metal Box’ studio album

Disc 1 (side 1):
1. Albatross
2. Memories

(side 2):
3. Swan Lake (Death Disco)
4. Poptones
5. Careering

Disc 2 (side 1):
6. No Birds Do Sing
7. Graveyard
8. The Suit

(side 2):
9. Bad Baby
10. Socialist
11. Chant
12. Radio 4

LP 3:
Live at Manchester, Russell’s Club (The Factory) 18/6/79 (unreleased)

Disc 3 (side 1):
1. Chant
2. Swan Lake (aka Death Disco)
3. Memories

(side 2)
4. Public Image
5. Annalisa
6. No Birds Do Sing

LP 4:
Rare Mixes & BBC Session

Disc 4 (side 1):
1. Swan Lake (monitor mix)
2. Albatross (monitor mix)

(side 2):
3. BBC Radio 1, John Peel Sessions 1979
4. Poptones
5. Careering
6. Chant