R.E.M. | MTV Unplugged, 2001 | Vinyl LP

  • $ 39.98

R.E.M. Unplugged, 2001 shares the band's set for MTV's "MTV Unplugged" acoustic performance. The release highlighted the band's 2001 album Reveal.

R.E.M. mark the point when post-punk turned into alternative rock. When their first single, "Radio Free Europe," was released in 1981, it sparked a back-to-the-garage movement in the American underground. While there were a number of hardcore and punk bands in the U.S. during the early '80s, R.E.M. brought guitar pop back into the underground lexicon. Combining ringing guitar hooks with mumbled, cryptic lyrics and a D.I.Y. aesthetic borrowed from post-punk, the band simultaneously sounded traditional and modern. Throughout the '80s, they worked relentlessly, releasing records every year and touring constantly, playing both theaters and backwoods dives. Along the way, they inspired countless bands, from the legions of jangle pop groups in the mid-'80s to scores of alternative pop groups in the '90s, who admired their slow climb to stardom.


LP Track Listing:

1. All the Way to Reno (You're Gonna Be a Star)

2. Electrolite

3. At My Most Beautiful

4. Daysleeper

5. So. Central Rain (I'm Sorry)

6. Losing My Religion

7. Country Feedback

8. Cuyahoga

9. Imitation of Life

10. Find the River

11. The One I Love

12. Disappear

13. Beat a Drum

14. I've Been High

15. I'll Take the Rain

16. Sad Professor