Richard and Linda Thompson | Shoot Out the Lights | Deluxe Edition CD Set

  • Sale
  • $ 19.99
  • Regular price $ 39.98

Shoot Out The Lights is Richard and Linda Thompson's final album together and, ironically, the folk-rock couple's most artistically acclaimed and commercially successful. The album was recorded, scrapped, and rerecorded before finally emerging in 1982, arriving just around the time that the couple split up. Despite the separation, they embarked upon a U.S. tour to promote the album, delivering emotionally charged performances at every turn. The songs draw from the couple's six records together and find Linda delivering unparalleled vocals, matched in intensity by some of Richard's most riveting guitar work.

Rhino Handmade reissues the couple's legendary swan song as a two-disc deluxe edition that includes the original album along with a bonus disc of 11 unreleased live performances, all but one taken from shows in San Francisco and Santa Cruz, California. Several covers are also featured: Hank Williams' "Honky Tonk Blues," "I'm A Dreamer" by Fairport Convention singer Sandy Denny, and Bob Dylan's "I'll Keep It With Mine," a song Richard covered with Fairport Convention. The set's accompanying 40-page booklet includes details about the album and tour from Richard, Linda, the band, and producer Joe Boyd.

Track Listings:

Disc 1
1. Don't Renege on Our Love
2. Walking on a Wire
3. A Man in Need
4. Just the Motion
5. Shoot Out the Lights
6. Back Street Slide
7. Did She Jump or Was She Pushed?
8. Wall of Death

Disc 2 _ Live (Previously Unissued)
1. Dargai
2. Back Street Slide
3. Pavanne
4. I'll Keep It With Mine
5. Borrowed Time
6. Did She Jump or Was She Pushed?
7. I'm a Dreamer
8. Honky Tonk Blues
9. Shoot Out the Lights
10. For Shame of Doing Wrong
11. Dimming of the Day