Roy Orbison | The MGM Years | 13 CD Box Set

  • $ 169.98

The MGM Years is the largest compilation of Roy Orbison music to date! 

Roy Orbison's historic MGM catalog chronicled in 'The MGM Years' Box Set' - commemorating 50th Anniversary of groundbreaking MGM signing!

  • The MGM Years - Recorded from 1965 through 1973, box set contains all of Roy's 11 MGM studio albums, the soundtrack to The Fastest Guitar Alive and an album of B-sides and singles from that era.
  • This is some of Roy Orbison's best, but also perhaps least known work - now all together for the first time with fully restored art and sound.
  • All 152 songs in this set were transferred from the original multi-track tapes
  • Featuring a 65-page booklet filled with rare photos and liner notes by Alex Orbison,
  • All this material has been out of print for decades
  • A collector's dream!


2015 marks a historic 50-year milestone for music legend Roy Orbison. On July 1, 1965, "The Big O" left Monument Records and signed with MGM Records, going on to release 11 studio albums, a film soundtrack and 27 singles over the course of the following eight years, and at the same time scoring another 11 worldwide Top 40 hits. 

The MGM Years box set finally puts all of these fabulous records in one place. These include the 11 original studio albums, the much sought after soundtrack to The Fastest Guitar Alive and a newly created compilation album called MGM B-Sides & Singles that contains all 12 MGM era singles and B-sides that otherwise weren't included in any album; in all, 152 glorious Roy Orbison tracks. Each song was additionally re-EQ'd and balanced by Roy's son Alex and GRAMMY-winning engineer Chuck Turner to bring the masters back to their original warm vinyl sound. All this amazing material has been generally out of circulation for decades! Each original album comes with fully restored artwork and each album has been fastidiously remastered by GRAMMY-winning engineer Richard Dodd. The box set includes a beautifully bound booklet with extensive liner notes written by Alex Orbison, Roy's youngest son, and never before seen photos.

Track Listing:

Disc: 1
1. Ride Away
2. You Fool You
3. Two of a Kind
4. This is Your Song
5. I'm in a Blue, Blue Mood
6. If You Can't Say Something Nice
7. Claudette
8. Afraid to Sleep
9. Sugar and Honey
10. Summer Love
11. Big as I Can Dream
12. Wondering

Disc: 2
1. Crawling Back
2. It Ain't No Big Thing (With the Candy Men)
3. Time Changed Everything (With the Candy Men)
4. This Is My Land
5. The Loner
6. Maybe (With the Candy Men)
7. Breakin' Up is Breakin' My Heart
8. Go Away (With the Candy Men)
9. A New Star
10. Never (With the Candy Men)
11. It Wasn't Very Long Ago
12. Why Hurt the One Who Loves You

Disc: 3
1. You'll Never Be Sixteen Again
2. Pantomime
3. Twinkle Toes
4. Losing You
5. City Life
6. Wait
7. Growing Up
8. Where Is Tomorrow
9. (No) I'll Never Get Over You
10. Going Back to Gloria
11. Just Another Name for Rock and Roll
12. Never Love Again

Disc: 4
1. (I'd Be) A Legend in My Time
2. (Yes) I'm Hurting
3. The Same Street
4. Far Far Away
5. Big Hearted Me
6. Sweet Dreams
7. Oh, Such A Stranger
8. Blue, Blue, Day
9. What About Me
10. Give Myself A Party
11. Too Soon to Know
12. Lonesome Number One

Disc: 5
1. Whirlwind
2. Medicine Man
3. River
4. The Fastest Guitar Alive
5. Rollin' On
6. Pistolero
7. Good Time Party
8. Heading South
9. Best Friend
10. There Won't Be Many Coming Home

Disc: 6
1. She
2. Communication Breakdown
3. Cry Softly Lonely One
4. Girl Like Mine
5. It Takes One (To Know One)
6. Just Let Me Make Believe
7. Here Comes the Rain Baby
8. That's A No No
9. Memories
10. Time to Cry
11. Only Alive

Disc: 7
1. Truly, Truly True
2. Unchained Melody
3. I Recommend Her
4. More
5. Heartache
6. Amy
7. Good Morning, Dear
8. What Now, My Love
9. Walk On
10. Yesterday's Child
11. Try to Remember

Disc: 8
1. Kaw-Liga
2. Hey, Good Lookin'
3. Jambalaya
4. (Last Night) I Heard You Crying in Your Sleep
5. You Win Again
6. Your Cheatin' Heart
7. Cold, Cold Heart
8. A Mansion on the Hill
9. I Can't Help It (If I'm Still in Love with You)
10. There'll Be No Teardrops Tonight
11. I'm So Lonesome I Could Cry

Disc: 9
1. Break My Mind
2. Help Me Rhonda
3. Only You
4. Down the Line
5. Money
6. When I Stop Dreaming
7. Loving Touch
8. Land of 1,000 Dances
9. Scarlet Ribbons
10. She Won't Hang Her Love Out (On the Line)
11. Casting My Spell On You
12. Penny Arcade

Disc: 10
1. God Love You
2. Beaujolais
3. If Only for Awhile
4. Rings of Gold
5. Help Me
6. Plain Jane Country (Come to Town)
7. Harlem Woman
8. Cheyenne
9. Changes
10. It Takes All Kinds of People
11. Remember The Good

Disc: 11
1. Memphis, Tennessee
2. Why A Woman Cries
3. Run, Baby, Run (Back into My Arms)
4. Take Care of Your Woman
5. I'm The Man On Susie's Mind
6. I Can't Stop Loving You
7. Run The Engines Up High
8. It Ain't No Big Thing
9. I Fought the Law
10. The Three Bells
11. Danny Boy

Disc: 12
1. I Wanna Live
2. You Don't Know Me
3. California Sunshine Girl
4. Words
5. Blue Rain (Coming Down)
6. Drift Away
7. You Lay So Easy On My Mind
8. The World You Live In
9. Sweet Caroline
10. I've Been Loving You Too Long (To Stop Now)
11. The Morning After

Disc: 13
1. So Good
2. Born to Be Loved by You
3. Shy Away
4. Flowers
5. Sugar Man
6. My Friend
7. Southbound Jericho Parkway
8. Tennessee Owns My Soul
9. She Cheats On Me
10. How Do You Start Over
11. So Young
12. If I Had a Woman Like You
13. (Love Me Like You Did It) Last Night
14. Close Again
15. I Can Read Between the Lines
16. Sooner or Later