Sly and the Family Stone | Higher! (Limited Edition) | Vinyl LP Box Set

  • $ 144.99

Sly & the Family Stone Want to Take You –Higher!" with the new career-spanning box set!

SLY & THE FAMILY STONE _ Higher! the brand new 77-Track box set complete w/ mono single mixes, live recordings, studio outtakes, rare instrumentals and 17 previously unreleased tracks + 104-page book!

Available on Numbered Limited Edition 180g 8-LP box set

  • 77-Track overview and rarities box set
  • 17 previously unreleased tracks
  • Features mono single mixes, live recordings, studio outtakes, rare instrumentals and more!
  • Deluxe 12 x 12-inch (LP) packaging
  • Vinyl is 180-gram audiophile quality pressed at RTI
  • Vinyl boxes are individually numbered!
  • 104-page book with extensive liner notes, track-by-track annotations, and timeline of Sly's life and career
  • Stunning rare and unseen photographs, posters, picture sleeves, single labels, ticket stubs, recording documents, vintage advertisements and other memorabilia

All through the brilliant highs and the murky lows of the late '60s and early '70s, Sly & The Family Stone had the globe dancing to the music. The creativity of the mixed-race, mixed-gender, and mixed-genre band shines in this new 77-track, four-CD/eight-LP box set. This incredible collection showcases the classic hits not just in stereo format, but in the good ol' mono mixes which went missing long ago with the transistor radio, and in unheard early versions, and concert performances. Also included are gems from Sly Stewarts' pre- Family Stone period, studio outtakes, and potent instrumentals from this archetype of jam bands. With 17 previously unreleased tracks, it's a lot more music than you knew was there _ all remastered to hit the pinnacle of sound. This powerful music is accompanied by a stunningly colorful and evocatively detailed 104-page, 10-inch book (12-inch in vinyl box) of rare photographs, posters, picture sleeves, recording documents, vintage ads, and other memorabilia, along with extensive liner notes by Jeff Kaliss (author of Sly's only authorized biography), track-by-track annotations, and a detailed timeline of Sly and The Family's life and career. The legacy of Sly & The Family Stone persists through four decades of movie and TV soundtracks, commercials, radio playlists, and parties worldwide, and influenced countless makers of rock, funk, jazz, and hip-hop. Here's a chance to take it Higher!

Track Listings:

1. I Just Learned How To Swim* (by Sly Stewart)
2. Scat Swim* (by Sly Stewart)
3. Buttermilk (Part One)* (by Sly)
4. Dance All Night* (by Sly and Freddie)
5. Temptation Walk (Part One)* (by Sly)
6. I Ain't Got Nobody (For Real)
7. I Can't Turn You Loose
8. Higher* #
9. Underdog* #
10. Bad Risk* #
11. Let Me Hear It From You* #
12. Advice*
13. If This Room Could Talk*
14. I Cannot Make It*
15. Trip To Your Heart*
16. I Hate To Love Her*
17. Silent Communication æ
18. I Get High On You (version one) æ
19. I Remember æ
20. My Woman's Head (instrumental) æ

1. What's That Got To Do With Me æ
2. Fortune And Fame æ
3. What Would I Do
4. Only One Way Out Of This Mess
5. I Know What You Came To Say æ
6. Dance To The Music* #
7. Ride The Rhythm
8. Color Me True
9. Are You Ready
10. Don't Burn Baby
11. We Love All
12. Danse A La Musique* # (by The French Fries)
13. Small Fries* # (by The French Fries)
14. Chicken* #
15. Into My Own Thing
16. Life* #
17. Love City* æ
18. M'lady* #
19. Dynamite! æ (featuring Johnny Robinson on vocals)
20. Undercat (instrumental) æ

1. Everyday People* #
2. Sing A Simple Song* #
3. I Get High On You (version two) æ
4. Wonderful World Of Color (instrumental) æ
5. Pressure
6. I Want To Take You Higher* #
7. Seven More Days
8. Feathers (instrumental) æ
9. Somebody's Watching You
10. Sex Machine
11. Hot Fun In The Summertime* #
12. Everybody Is A Star* #
13. Thank You (Falettinme Be Mice Elf Agin)* #
14. Stand! (Live from the Isle Of Wight Festival)
15. You Can Make It If You Try (Live from the Isle Of Wight Festival)
16. Dance To The Music æ (Live from the Isle Of Wight Festival)
17. MEDLEY: Music Lover / I Want To Take You Higher / Music Lover æ (Live from the Isle Of Wight Festival)

1. Luv N' Haight #
2. Family Affair
3. Brave & Strong* #
4. Runnin' Away* #
5. (You Caught Me) Smilin'#
6. Spaced Cowboy
7. You're The One* æ (Live from Don Kirshner's Rock Concert)
8. In Time
9. If You Want Me To Stay #
10. Frisky* #
11. Skin I'm In
12. If It Were Left Up To Me* #
13. Time For Livin'* #
14. Can't Strain My Brain #
15. Loose Booty
16. Le Lo Li # (by Sly Stone)
17. Crossword Puzzle# (by Sly Stone)
18. Family Again
19. Hoboken (by Sly Stone)
20. High (by Sly Stone) æ

* Mono
# Single Master
æ Previously Unissued