Sonic Youth | Dirty | Vinyl 2LP

  • $ 24.98

Dirty finds Sonic Youth revisiting the territory the band mapped out on Sister -- merging the propulsive structures of rock (both punk and otherwise) with the gorgeous chaos of their approach to the electric guitar -- and it shows how much better they'd gotten at it in the past five years, from the curiously beautiful "Wish Fulfillment" and "Theresa's Sound World" to the brutal "Drunken Butterfly" and "Purr." Dirty was also Sonic Youth's most overtly political album, railing against the abuses of the Reagan/Bush era on "Youth Against Fascism," "Swimsuit Issue," and "Chapel Hill," a surprising move from a band so often in love with cryptic irony.

LP Track Listing:

1. 100%

2. Swimsuit Issue

3. Theresa's Sound World

4. Drunken Butterfly

5. Shoot

6. Wish Fulfillment

7. Sugar Kane

8. Orange Rolls, Angel's Spit

9. Youth Against Fascism

10. Nic Fit

11. On the Strip

12. Chapel Hill

13. Stalker

14. JC

15. Purr

16. Cr_me Br_l?e