Spoon | Gimme Fiction (Deluxe Edition) | Vinyl LP

  • $ 34.99

LP 1 _ Side A

1. The Beast and Dragon, Adored

2. The Two Sides of Monsieur Valentine

3. I Turn My Camera On

4. My Mathematical Mind

5. The Delicate Place

6. Sister Jack

LP 1 _ Side B

1. I Summon You

2. The Infinite Pet

3. Was It You?

4. They Never Got You

5. Merchants Of Soul

LP 2 - 12 Previously unreleased demos

1. I Summon You (First Demo)

2. Was It You? (Home Demo)

3. I've Been Good Too Long (Home Demo)

4. Sister Jack (Piano Demo)

5. The Beast and Dragon, Adored (Home Demo)

6. My Mathematical Mind (Home Demo)

7. They Never Got You (Home Demo)

8. The Two Sides of Monsieur Valentine (Home Demo)

9. The Delicate Place (Home Demo)

10. The Infinite Pet (Home Demo)

11. Merchants of Soul (Home Demo)

12. Dear Mr. Landlord (Home Demo)

To celebrate the 10th anniversary of the Spoon classic, Merge releases a deluxe limited-edition version of Gimme Fiction on 180g vinyl double LP. The reissue contains the album remastered by Howie Weinberg from the original tapes, a second disc with 12 previously unreleased demos from the era, nine additional bonus tracks via digital download, and a full-color book containing photos and an extensive oral history of the making of the album. The deluxe LP package also includes a 24" x 36" (61cm x 91cm) poster.

Gimme Fiction dragged the sonic pointillism of Kill the Moonlight further into dub-influenced weirdness as the increasingly confident Spoon went crazy in the studio, experimenting with everything from warped hip-hop samples to horse whinnies. How all this directionless Dylan worship and psychedelic goofing resulted in an album as sharply realized as Gimme Fiction is a testament solely to Spoon's self-assurance and tastefulness (and some hard work, and a bit of luck, etc.). Whatever digging or strange alchemy had to go into it, they only produced more gold. Gimme Fiction deserves special recognition because it's the album where Spoonãbacked into a cornerãtook some crazy leaps, all of them forward. It's a –departure point" for a band that, lucky for us, has never made a real departure. And when it came time for a reissue, we knew it deserved a lasting place on vinyl, right alongside every other indispensable record in Spoon's discography.