The Band | The Capitol Albums 1968-1977 | 180g 9 LP Vinyl Box Set

  • $ 149.99

Legendary Canadian-American roots-rock group The Band was a musical institution unlike anything that came before them or since. In the 1960s, they were initially brought together as The Hawks by Ronnie Hawkins and later gained international recognition as Bob Dylan's backing band on his groundbreaking electric tours.

However, it was the original material Robbie Robertson, Rick Danko, Richard Manuel, Garth Hudson and Levon Helm recorded as The Band such as "The Weight," "The Night They Drove Ol' Dixie Down," "Up On Cripple Creek," "Life is a Carnival," "The Shape I'm In," "Don't Do It," "It Makes No Difference," "Tears of Rage," "Stage Fright" and "Ophelia" that turned them into the highly respected music icons they remain to this day. 

The Capitol Albums 1968-1977 box set offers up 180g vinyl pressings of eight classic albums from The Band during their late-60s and '70s recording glory including Music From The Big Pink (1968), The Band (1969), Stage Fright (1970), Cahoots (1971), Rock of Ages (1971), Moondog Matinee (1973), Northern Lights-Southern Cross (1975) and Islands (1977).

The first four titles - Music From The Big Pink (1968), The Band (1969), Stage Fright (1970) and Cahoots (1971) - are only currently available on the format in this box set. All of the album artwork is true to the original releases and the whole 9LP-set comes packaged in a rigid box. 

LP Track Listings:


Side A

1. Tears of Rage

2. To Kingdom Come

3. In A Station

4. Caledonia Mission

5. The Weight

Side B

1. We Can Talk

2. Long Black Veil

3. Chest Fever

4. Lonesome Suzie

5. This Wheel's On Fire

6. I Shall Be Released


Side A

1. Across the Great Divide

2. Rag Mama Rag

3. The Night They Drove Old Dixie Down

4. When You Awake

5. Up On Cripple Creek

6. Whispering PInes

Side B

1. Jemima Surrender

2. Rockin' Chair

3. Look Out Cleveland

4. Jawbone

5. The Unfaithful Servant

6. King Harvest (Has Surely Come)


Side A

1. Strawberry Wine

2. Sleeping

3. Time To Kill

4. Just Another Whistle Stop

5. All La Glory

Side B

1. The Shape I'm In

2. The W.S. Walcott Medicine Show

3. Daniel and The Sacred Harp

4. Stage Fright

5. The Rumor


Side A

1. Life Is A Carnival

2. When I Paint My Masterpiece

3. Last of The Blacksmiths

4. Where Do We Go From Here?

5. 4% Pantomime

Side B

1. Shoot Out In Chinatown

2. The Moon Struck One

3. Thinkin' Out Loud


LP 1 - Side A

1. Introduction / Rock of Ages / The Band

2. Don't Do it

3. King Harvest (Has Surely Come)

4. Caledonia Mission

5. Get Up Jake

6. The W.S. Walcott Medicine Show

LP 1 - Side B

1. Stage Fright

2. The Night They Drove Old Dixie Down

3. Across the Great Divide

4. This Wheel's On Fire

5. Rag Mama Rag

LP 2 - Side A

1. The Weight

2. The Shape I'm In

3. The Unfaithful Servant

4. Life Is A Carnival

LP 2 - Side B

1. The Genetic Method

2. Chest Fever

3. (I Don't Want To) Hang Up My Rock and Roll Shoes


Side A

1. Ain't Got No Home

2. Holy Cow

3. Share Your Love With me

4. Mystery Train

5. The Third Man

Side B

1. The Promised Land

2. The Great Pretender

3. I'm Ready

4. Saved

5. A Change Is Gonna Come


Side A

1. Forbidden Fruit

2. Hobo Jungle

3. Ophelia

4. Acadian Driftwood

Side B:

1. Ring Your Bell

2. It Makes No Difference

3. Jupiter Hollow

4. Rags and Bones


Side A

1. Right As Rain

2. Street Walker

3. Let the Night Fall

4. Ain't That A Lot of Love

5. Christmas Must Be Tonight

Side B

1. Islands

2. The Saga of Pepote Rouge

3. Georgia On My Mind

4. Knockin' Lost John

5. Livin' In A Dream