The The | Soul Mining | 30th Anniversary Deluxe Edition 180g Vinyl 2LP

  • $ 41.99

Originally released on October 21, 1983, the recording of Soul Mining began in the spring of 1982, when the then 20-year old Matt Johnson, financed at this point by London Records, de-camped to New York to record 'Uncertain Smile' with producer Mike Thorne.


A subsequent session, again in New York with Thorne, and featuring David Johansen of the New York Dolls, resulted in 'Perfect,' yet both sessions, and the deal with London Records, were subsequently scrapped as THE THE switched to CBS Records and decided to start the album afresh.


Work on the album was reconvened at John Foxx's Garden Studios in the then pre-gentrified Shoreditch area of London with Matt co-producing with Paul Hardiman - the album was subsequently mixed at Martin Rushent's Genetic Sound studio.


Featuring a host of talented musicians, including JG Thirwell (aka Foetus, Manorexia and Steroid Maximus), Zeke Manyika (Orange Juice), electronic DIY pioneer Thomas Leer and Jools Holland, Johnson set out with a clear vision in mind _ to produce an album that felt cinematic; a record of width, depth and texture and one which avoided the mundane line-up of two guitars, bass and drums.


The 30th Anniversary Deluxe Edition of Soul Mining is loyal to Johnson's original track listing with 'Perfect' absent from the main album _ Johnson always had it in mind for the album to finish with 'Giant,' but 'Perfect' was added by the US label without Johnson's consent.


Re-mastered at Abbey Road Studios by Johnson and packaged in a lavish 12" box, this vinyl only release includes an authentic reproduction of the 1983 release on 180g vinyl, plus an extra 12" gatefold vinyl of alternative versions and remixes. The remastered audio has also been dubbed from original vinyl pressings recorded from Matt Johnson's original 1982 Thorens TD-147 gramophone player using patent 'Dubbed-From-Disc' technology, obtainable via a download code contained within the box set. The box set also includes a unique 'news-poster' containing extensive notes written by Johnson that detail the making of the album.


LP Track Listings:



Side One

1. I've Been Waitin' For Tomorrow (All of My Life)

2. This Is the Day

3. The Sinking Feeling

4. Uncertain Smile


Side Two

1. The Twilight Hour

2. Soul Mining

3. Giant



Side One

1. Uncertain Smile (New York 12" version)

2. Perfect (New York 12" version)


Side Two

1. This Is the Day (12" version)

2. Fruit of the Heart

3. Perfect (London 12" version)

4. I've Been Waitin' for Tomorrow (All My Life) (12" mix)