Todd Rundgren | Runt | 180g Vinyl LP

  • $ 29.98


First Time Audiophile Vinyl & Gatefold Cover Presentation

Mastered impeccably by Joe Reagoso and Kevin Gray from the original Bearsville Records tapes

As founding member of the premiere late sixties power pop rockers Nazz, multi-instrumentalist, vocalist, songwriter and producer Todd Rundgren was barely in his 20's when he began his long solo journey with success as one of the music industry's most prolific and celebrated rock artists. His first solo album Runt showed a dazzling array of songs, displaying not only his rock and roll side but ventures into jazz, R&B, eastern and blues. With help from his friends Hunt and Tony Sales, the power trio nailed one of the finest albums of the classic rock era and also catapulted Todd Rundren's marquee as a singer/songwriter with his smash hit single We Gotta Get You A Woman.

Ever the rock journeyman, Todd Rundgren had already produced, mixed or played on albums by legendary recording artists like The Band and Paul Butterfield. Always called on to bring his musical genius for others, his initial hit recordings that make up the Runt album show how versatile and important the artist is. Check out his burning guitar riffs on album opener Broke Down And Busted or the gritty country blues feel of Once Burned, plus the New York funk/jazz of I'm In The Clique, three fan favorites that truly have stood the test of time. Known to write a hit ballad more than a few times in his career, Todd goes on record early here with one of his finest tracks ever with his brilliant Believe In Me. Followed closely by his masterpiece We Gotta Get You A Woman, even more pop sounds continue with his classic medley Baby Let's Swing/The Last Thing You Said/Don't Tie My Hands, and the haunting Beach Boys/Gregorian Chant feel of There Are No Words.

This amazing album hasn't been on vinyl for several decades that is until nowÄFriday Music is honored to announce for the first time ever on 180 Gram Audiophile Vinyl, the classic Todd Rundgren debut masterwork Runt. As a first installment in our career spanning Todd Rundgren Friday Music180 Gram Audiophile Series, this limited edition album will also be presented for a short time in a first time gatefold cover which will feature the original inner sleeve artwork, not seen in decades. Mastered from the authorized original Bearsville Records tapes by Joe Reagoso (Todd Rundgren, Cheap Trick, Hall & Oates) at Friday Music Studios with Kevin Gray, the Runt album will be one of the most anticipated audiophile albums released this year.

Todd RundgrenÄRuntÄA history making rock album from a rock legend, an audiophile dream releaseÄfirst time 180 Gram Vinyl and Gatefold CoverÄis now an audiophile vinyl dream come trueÄ.From your friends at Friday MusicÄ Stay tuned for more Todd Rundgren and Utopia original Bearsville Records and Warner Bros. Records audiophile recordings from Friday Music.

LP Track Listing:

1. Broke Down And Busted

2. Believe In Me

3. We Gotta Get You A Woman

4. Who's That Man?

5. Once Burned

6. Devil's Bite

7. I'm In The Clique

8. There Are No Words

9. Baby Let's Swing/The Last Thing You Said/Don't Tie My Hands

10. Birthday Carol