FREE SHIPPING ON ALL ORDERS OVER $100 (U.S., lower 48 only)

Various Artists | Day of the Dead (A Tribute to the Grateful Dead) | Limited Edition 10 LP Colored Vinyl Box Set

  • Sale
  • $ 188.98

Day of the Dead is an epic tribute to the music and artistry of the Grateful Dead, curated by Aaron and Bryce Dessner of The National. They have brought together some of their favourite musicians to reinterpret the songs and sounds of the Dead for a new generation. 59 tracks and over 5 hours of music makes the album a landmark to get lost in, to discover hidden treasures and to make your own playlists for whatever mood you're in.

The compilation is a wide-ranging tribute to the songwriting and experimentalism of the Dead which took four years to record, features over 60 artists from varied musical backgrounds, 59 tracks and is almost 6 hours long. You can see the full tracklisting below.

Day of the Dead will be released digitally, on 5XCD, and as a limited edition 10xLP boxed set.

All profits will help fight for AIDS/ HIV and related health issues around the world through the Red Hot Organization, a 501(c)3. This is the 20th album of original music produced by Red Hot to further its mission. Day of the Dead is the follow up to 2009's Dark Was The Night (4AD), a 32-track, multi-artist compilation also produced by Aaron and Bryce for Red Hot. Dark Was The Night has raised over $1.5 million for the organizations fighting AIDS to date:


Track Listing:

A1. Touch of Grey - The War On Drugs
A2. Shakedown Street - Unknown Mortal Orchestra
A3. Loser - Ed Droste, Binki Shapiro & Friends
A4. Jack-A-Roe - This Is the Kit

B1. Peggy-O - The National
B2. Bird Song - Bonnie 'Prince' Billy & Friends
B3. Brown-Eyed Women - Hiss Golden Messenger
B4. Sugaree - Phosphorescent, Jenny Lewis & Friends

C1. Help on the Way - B_la Fleck
C2. Franklin's Tower - Orchestra Baobab
C3. King Solomon's Marbles - Vijay Iyer

D1. Box of Rain - Kurt Vile and the Violators (featuring J Mascis)
D2. Friend of the Devil - Mumford & Sons
D3. Wharf Rat - Ira Kaplan & Friends

E1. Cassidy - Moses Sumney, Jenny Lewis & Friends
E2. Candyman - Jim James & Friends
E3. Clementine Jam - Orchestra Baobab

F1. Playing in the Band - Tunde Adebimpe, Lee Ranaldo & Friends
F2. Eyes of the World - Tal National

G1. Terrapin Station (Suite) - Daniel Rossen, Christopher Bear and The National (featuring Josh Kaufman, Conrad Doucette, S_ Percussion and Brooklyn Youth Chorus)

H1. Ship of Fools - The Tallest Man on Earth & Friends
H2. Estimated Prophet _ The Rileys
H3. Morning Dew - The National

I1. Me and My Uncle - The Lone Bellow & Friends
I2. China Cat Sunflower -> I Know You Rider - Stephen Malkmus and the Jicks
I3. If I Had the World to Give - Bonnie 'Prince' Billy

J1. Dark Star - Cass McCombs, Joe Russo & Friends
J2. Nightfall of Diamonds - Nightfall of Diamonds
J3. Dark Star - The Flaming Lips

K1. Rubin and Cherise - Bonnie 'Prince' Billy & Friends
K2. Althea - Winston Marshall, Kodiak Blue and Shura
K3. Mountains of the Moon - Lee Ranaldo, Lisa Hannigan & Friends

L1. Stella Blue - Local Natives
L2. Standing on the Moon - Phosphorescent & Friends
L3. To Lay Me Down - Perfume Genius, Sharon Van Etten & Friends

M1. Uncle John's Band - Lucius
M2. High Time - Daniel Rossen and Christopher Bear
M3. Dire Wolf - The Lone Bellow & Friends

N1. New Speedway Boogie - Courtney Barnett
N2. Cumberland Blues - Charles Bradley and Menahan Street Band
N3. Black Peter - Anohni and yMusic
N4. Easy Wind - Bill Callahan

O1. Here Comes Sunshine - Real Estate
O2. Rosemary - Mina Tindle & Friends
O3. Drums -> Space - Man Forever, So Percussion and Oneida
O4. Transitive Refraction Axis for John Oswald - Tim Hecker

P1. What's Become of the Baby - s t a r g a z e
P2. Garcia Counterpoint - Bryce Dessner

Q1. Brokedown Palace - Richard Reed Parry with Caroline Shaw and Little Scream (featuring Garth Hudson)
Q2. Till the Morning Comes _ Luluc with Xylouris White
Q3. Attics of My Life - Angel Olsen

R1. Cream Puff War - Fucked Up
R2. Truckin' - Marijuana Deathsquads

S1. Going Down the Road Feelin' Bad - Lucinda Williams & Friends
S2. Black Muddy River - Bruce Hornsby and DeYarmond Edison
S3. Ripple - The Walkmen
S4. And We Bid You Goodnight - Sam Amidon

T1. St. Stephen - Wilco and Bob Weir (live)
T2. I Know You Rider - The National and Bob Weir (live)