Various Artists | Nuggets: Original Artyfacts from the First Psychedelic Era, 1965-1968 | Vinyl LP 180 Gram

  • $ 27.98

Essential 40th Anniversary 2LP 180-gram vinyl edition of this classic anthology of psychedelic and garage gems from the mid '60s _ Nuggets remains quite possibly the most influential compilation released during the Rock 'N Roll era.

40th Anniversary 2LP 180-gram Rhino-Vinyl pressing!
Cut from the original analog masters
New introduction by Elektra founder Jac Holzman
New liner notes by original Producer/Compiler Lenny Kaye
Gatefold jacket artwork replicated to the finest detail
Voted one of Rolling Stone Magazines 500 Greatest Albums of All Time
Includes glorious sonic slabs of rock by The Electric Prunes, The Thirteenth Floor Elevators, The Amboy Dukes, Blues Magoos, The Vagrants, The Magic Mushrooms, The Seeds, The Standells, Chocolate Watch Band, and 21 more!

Lovingly compiled by Elektra Records founder Jac Holzman and Patti Smith Group guitarist and music aficionado Lenny Kaye, 1972's Nuggets: Original Artyfacts From The First Psychedelic Era (1965-1968) is a sprawling 27-song juggernaut that helped unveil the many integral layers of '60s underground music all the while greatly influencing the music that would materialize in its wake.

Every track featured here was issued as a single, including the Top 20 charters –Dirty Water" (Standells) and –Liar, Liar" (Castaways) as well as –Psychotic Reaction" (Count Five) which topped out at #5 and stands as the collection's highest charting cut. However, the beauty and distinction of Nuggets is in the music itself and not the preexisting notoriety of the material.

Joining the aforementioned fare are indispensible songs like –I Had Too Much To Dream (Last Night)" (The Electric Prunes), –Lies" (The Knickerborckers), –You're Gonna Miss Me" (The Thirteenth Floor Elevators), –Just Like Romeo And Juliet" (Michael And The Messengers), –Baby Please Don't Go" (The Amboy Dukes), –Hey Joe" (The Leaves) and –Tobacco Road" (The Blue Magoos) among many others!

This compilation is among the only various artists' titles to consistently wind up on published lists of all-time top albums'. Nuggets spawned more than 200 like-minded collections under such titles as Pebbles and Back From The Grave, and is a consistent compilation favorite and has carved out a genre of its own. As essential as ever!

LP Track Listings:

LP 1 _ Side 1

1. The Electric Prunes _ I Had Too Much To Dream (Last Night)

2. The Standells _ Dirty Water

3. The Strangeloves _ Night Time

4. The Knickerbockers _ Lies

5. The Vagrants _ Respect

6. Mouse _ A Public Execution

7. The Blues Project _ No Time Like The Right Time

LP 1 _ Side 2

1. The Shadows Of Knight _ Oh Yeah

2. The Seeds _ Pushin' Too Hard

3. The Barbarians _ Moulty

4. The Remains _ Don't Look Back

5. The Magicians _ Invitation To Cry

6. The Castaways _ Liar, Liar

7. The Thirteenth Floor Elevators _ You're Gonna Miss Me

LP 2 _ Side 1

1. Count Five _ Psychotic Reaction

2. The Leaves _ Hey Joe

3. Michael And The Messengers _ Just Like Romeo And Juliet

4. The Cryan Shames _ Sugar And Spice

5. The Amboy Dukes _ Baby Please Don't Go

6. The Blues Magoos _ Tobacco Road

LP 2 _ Side 2

1. Chocolate Watch Band _ Let's Talk About Girls

2. The Mojo Men _ Sit Down I Think I Love You

3. The Third Rail _ Run Run Run

4. Sagittarius _ My World Fell Down

5. Nazz _ Open My Eyes

6. The Premiers _ Farmer John

7. The Magic Mushrooms _ It's-A-Happening