Bob Mould | Silver Age | Vinyl LP

  • $ 19.98

Those familiar with the decades-spanning oeuvre of Bob Mould, from his pioneering early '80s work with Hôsker Dô to his solo work in singer/songwriter, electronic, and rock modes, to the deafening pop sparkle of Sugar, might expect a new album bearing the title Silver Age to be a somber and reflective set in the mode of his last album, 2009's Life and Times and they'd be way off the mark.

The new record features Bob's current band which includes drummer Jon Wurster (Superchunk) and bassist Jason Narducy (Verbow, Split Single), on 10 brand-new Mould compositions in the punishingly loud, melodically sparkling pop/rock vein of the Sugar catalog and the intensity of his latter-day Hôsker Dô output.

–I'd been batting around the idea of another aggressive pop record for some time," Bob says, –especially as the 20th anniversary of Copper Blue kept getting closer." It's no surprise, then, that Silver Age careens out of the speakers with a sense of exhilaration that reflects the excitement with which Bob and his live band cranked out the record in a tight whirlwind of a window in early 2012.

1. Star Machine

2. Silver Age

3. The Descent

4. Briefest Moment

5. Steam of Hercules

6. Fugue State

7. Round the City Square

8. Angels Rearrange

9. Keep Believing

10. First Time Joy