Captain Beefheart | Sun, Zoom, Spark:1970 to 1972 - Limited Edition | CD Set

  • $ 54.99

Three stellar albums PLUS disc of outtakes from the legendary Captain Beefheart discography!

Limited Edition 180g 4LP (or 4CD) collection brings together newly remastered versions of Lick My Decals Off, Baby from 1970 and 1972's The Spotlight Kid and Clear Spot PLUS fourth LP containing out-takes including early mixes, alternate and instrumental versions of previously unreleased material.

« Includes newly remastered versions of three Captain Beefheart early 70s studio albums plus an entire disc of 14 unreleased outtakes

« First time this music has been remastered.

« Limited Edition 4-LP and 4-CD box set versions available

« 18-page booklet

« Liner notes by Rip Rense and artwork by Don Van Vliet

Choice of either 4-LP box or 4-CD box

In the wonderfully idiosyncratic discography of the-one-of-a-kind artist Captain Beefheart (aka Don Van Vliet), attention usually focuses on the carefully wrought, experimental music heard on his noted masterwork Trout Mask Replica. As a consequence, the three stellar albums recorded soon after Lick My Decals Off, Baby (1970), The Spotlight Kid (1972) and Clear Spot (1972) are often criminally overlooked. Rhino intends to rectify that with the limited edition 180g 4LP box set Sun, Zoom, Spark 1970-1972 which revisits the albums Beefheart recorded with the Magic Band in the early-seventies. It includes all three albums, which have been remastered for the first time, as well as an entire LP featuring 14 previously unissued outtakes from the era.

Recorded over a couple of weeks in the summer of 1970 at United Recording Group in Hollywood, Lick My Decals Off, Baby was released the following October. One of Van Vliet's favorites, the album represents the apex of his dissonant style and includes such standout tracks as the quirky-funny "I Love You, You Big Dummy" and the exquisite solo guitar piece "One Red Rose That I Mean."

It was followed by The Spotlight Kid, which was recorded at The Record Plant in Los Angeles during the summer of 1971. It features a more barebones, blues-rock sound on songs like "Click Clack," "I'm Gonna Booglarize You Baby" and "Alice In Blunderland." Lester Bangs wrote in Rolling Stone (March '72) that Beefheart had struck the balance between "intensely personal type of statement" and "mass appeal," praising the album for its "wit and genius."

Soon after, Clear Spot was released. Recorded in the summer of 1972, the album introduced several standout tracks, such as the vulnerable love song "My Head Is My Only House Unless It Rains," the soul ballad "Too Much Time," and the pulsing "Big Eyed Beans from Venus."

The fourth and final disc in Sun Zoom Spark includes 14 unreleased tracks and is a trove of alternate versions, rehearsals and outtakes from the sessions for The Spotlight Kid and Clear Spot. The disc reveals just how much some songs evolved before being released. Among the highlights are a sung-version of "I Can't Do This Unless I Can Do This/Seam Crooked Sam," which became a spoken-word performance on Bat Chain Puller; a raucous, off-kilter version of "Dirty Blue Gene" that pointed the way to the final version on Doc at the Radar Station; and an instrumental rehearsal of "The Witch Doctor Life" that is nearly unrecognizable compared to the version heard on 1982's Ice Cream For Crow.

Track Listings (same for both LP & CD box sets):


1. Lick My Decals Off first, baby

2. 2nd Doctor Dark

3. I Love You, You Big Dummy

4. Peon

5. BellerÍn 'Plain

6. Woe-Is-Uh-Me-Bop

7. Japan In A dishpan

8. I Wanna Find A Woman That'll Hold My Big Toe Till I Have To Go

9. Petrified Forest

10. One Red Rose That I Mean

11. The Buggy Boogie Woogie

12. The Smithsonian Institute Blues (Or The Big Dig)

13. Space-Age Couple

14. The Clouds Are Full Of Wine (Not Whiskey Or Rye)

15. Flash Gordon's Ape

THE SPOTLIGHT KID (January 1972)

1. I'm Gonna Booglarize You Baby

2. White Jam

3. Blabber 'N Smoke

4. When It Blows Its Stacks

5. Alice In Blunderland

6. The Spotlight Kid

7. Click Clack

8. Grow Fins

9. There Is not No Santa Claus On The Evenin 'Stage

10. Glider

CLEAR SPOT (November 1972)

1. Low Yo Yo Stuff

2. Nowadays A Woman's Gotta Hit A Man

3. Too Much Time

4. Circumstances

5. My Head Is My Only House Unless It Rains

6. Sun Zoom Spark

7. Clear Spot

8. Crazy Little Thing

9. Long Neck Bottles

10. Her Eyes Are A Blue Million Miles

11. Big Eyed Beans From Venus

12. 12th Golden Birdies


1. Alice In Blunderland (Alternate Version)

2. Harry Irene

3. I Can not Do This Unless I Can Do This / Seam Crooked Sam

4. Pompadour Swamp / Suction Prints

5. The Witch Doctor Life (Instrumental Take)

6. Two Rips In A Haystack / Kiss Me My Love

7. Best Batch Yet (Track) [Version 1]

8. Your Love Brought Me To Life (Instrumental)

9. Dirty Blue Gene (Alternate Version 1)

10. Nowadays A Woman's Gotta Hit A Man (Early Mix)

11. Kiss Where I Kain't

12. Circumstances (Alternate Vesion 2)

13. Little Scratch

14. Dirty Blue Gene (Alternate Version 3)