Daphni | Jiaolong | Vinyl LP

  • Sale
  • $ 12.99
  • Regular price $ 22.99

While Caribou has been touring the globe throughout 2012 in support of Radiohead, Dan Snaith has fallen deeper into his love affair with the dance floor to bring us a full-length release as Daphni. The first Daphni album of shape-shifting works is titled JIAOLONG (pronounced JOW-long) and will be released on Dan’s own imprint in the UK on October 8 and on Merge Records in North America on October 16.

Throughout Caribou’s ongoing world tour, Dan has been hitting club nights in each city, DJing into the wee hours in search of that sweet spot. “DJs have the potential to blindside you,” Snaith says. Inspired to work in a completely different way—setting aside the meticulous compositional rigors and musical layers that underpin Caribou songs—Dan Snaith-as-Daphni reaches out for a more feminine, fluid energy and seeks instant gratification. “Daphni tracks are rough and spontaneous,” he explains. "There is a small world where dance music lives up to its potential to liberate, surprise, and innovate. It’s there that I hope Daphni has a place.”

LP Track Listing:

1. Yes, I Know

2. Cos-Ber-Zam – Ne Noya (Daphni Mix)

3. Ye Ye

4. Light

5. Pairs

6. Ahora

7. Jiao

8. Springs

9. Long