Frank Zappa | Freak Out | 180g Vinyl 2LP

  • $ 24.99

180 Gram Vinyl Double LP!

Mastered by Chris Bellman at Bernie Grundman Mastering!

Ranked 246/500 on Rolling Stone Magazine's 500 Greatest Albums of All Time.

Freak Out! is the debut album by American band The Mothers of Invention, released June 27, 1966 on Verve Records. Often cited as one of rock music's first concept albums, the album is a satirical expression of frontman Frank Zappa's perception of American pop culture. It was also one of the earliest double albums in rock music (although Bob Dylan's Blonde on Blonde preceded it by a week), and the first 2-record debut.

Mothers Of Invention changed from an R&B covers band to performing Zappa's original material when he joined the group. Freak Out! contains a range of musical styles from R&B, doo wop, and blues-influenced rock to orchestral arrangements and avant-garde sounds.

LP 1

1. Hungry Freaks, Daddy
2. I Ain't Got No Heart
3. Who Are the Brain Police?
4. Go Cry On Somebody Else's Shoulder
5. Motherly Love
6. How Could I Be Such A Fool?
7. Wowie Zowie
8. you Didn't Try To Call Me
9. Any Way the Wind Blows
10. I'm Not Satisfied
11. You're Probably Wondering Why I'm Here

LP 2

1. Trouble Every Day
2. Help, I'm A Rock (Suite in Three Movements)
I. Okay To Tap Dance
II. In Memoriam, Edgar Varese
III. It Can't Happen Here
3. The Return Of the Son of Monster Magnet (Unfinished ballet in Two Tableaux)
I. Ritual Dance of the Child Killers
II. Nullis Pretii (No Commercial Potential)