Gov't Mule | By a Thread | 180g Clear Yellow Vinyl 2LP

  • $ 19.98

Recorded largely at Willie Nelson's Pedernales Studio in 2009, By A Thread's origins are apparent from the first track, –Broke Down On The Brazos," named after the nearby river, with a deep Texas stomp for the backbeat and featuring the trademark guitar-work of ZZ Top founder Billy Gibbons. Perhaps less descriptively named, –Steppin' Lightly" is another burner, set off by the soulful vocals and mind-bending guitar work of Haynes, who proves anew why Rolling Stone named him one of the Top 25 guitarists of all time. Other highlights include the lament –Railroad Boy," informed by both Celtic tradition and the Mississippi Delta; the expansive psych-rock of "Monday Mourning Meltdown"; and the optimistic "Frozen Fear," with its lush harmony and even a hint of rocksteady skank.


LP Track Listing:

LP 1 _ Side 1

1. Broke Down On The Brazos

2. Steppin' Lightly

3. Any Open Window

LP 1 _ Side 2

1. Railroad Boy

2. Monday Mourning Meltdown

3. Gordon James

LP 2 _ Side 1

1. Frozen Fear

2. Forevermore

3. Inside Outside Woman Blues #1

LP 2 _ Side 2

1. Scenes From A Troubled Mind

2. World Wake Up