Grateful Dead | Dick's Picks Volume 35 | 4xCD Box Set

  • Sale
  • $ 52.99
  • Regular price $ 54.99

Limited to 300!

The story behind this volume of Dick’s Picks is truly rich— Jerry Garcia gave the 1/4” tapes to these shows to Keith Godchaux in order to familiarize him with the band’s repertoire as Godchaux prepared to replace Pigpen in the band’s line-up. Godchaux then left the tapes on his parents’ houseboat in Alameda, where they remained for nearly 35 years until being discovered by Keith’s brother in 2005. Despite the less than optimal storage conditions the sound on this 4 CD set (mastered in HDCD) is stellar, and the fact that these tapes were lost means that soundboard recordings of this tour were very scarce. Includes the entire San Diego show and all that could be salvaged from the Chicago show, plus the end of the 08/06/71 show at the Hollywood Bowl. A long overdue repress limited to 300 copies.

Track Listing

Disc One
San Diego Set One
1. Big Railroad Blues
2. El Paso
3. Mr. Charlie
4. Sugar
5. Mama Tried
6. Bertha
7. Big Boss Man
8. Promised Land
9. Hard to Handle
10. Cumberland Blues
11. Casey Jones

San Diego Set Two
12. Truckin’

Disc Two
San Diego Set Two (cont.)
1. China Cat Sunflower
2. I Know You Rider
3. Next Time You See Me
4. Sugar Magnolia
5. Sing Me Back Home
6. Me and My Uncle
7. Not Fade Away
8. Going’ Down The Road Feeling Bad
9. Jam
10. Johnny B. Goode

Chicago Show
11. Uncle John’s Band
12. Playing In The Band
13. Loser

Disc Three
Chicago Show (cont.)
1. It Hurts Me Too
2. Cumberland Blues
3. Empty Pages
4. Beat It On Down the Line
5. Brown-Eyed Woman
6. St. Stephen
7. Not Fade Away
8. Going’ Down The Road Feeling Bad
9. Not Fade Away
10. Me And Bobby McGee
11. Big Boss Man
12. Brokedown Palace

Disc Four
Chicago Show (cont.)
1. Good Lovin’

Bonus Tracks
2. The Other One
3. Me And My Uncle
4. The Other One
5. Deal
6. Sugar Magnolia
7. Morning Dew
8. Turn On Your Lovelight