Johnny Winter | True to the Blues: The Johnny Winter Story | CD Box Set

  • $ 49.99

Halfway between the British blues revival of the '60s and the southern rock renaissance of the '70s, the six-stringed genius of Johnny Winter has caught countless of listeners by the ears, from Beaumont, Texas to Woodstock and beyond. His high-energy approach to the blues - reverent to tradition but fiercely of a style all his own - made him not only one of the most sought-after new artists of his time, but a peer and equal to the blues legends he worshipped from the beginning. And Winter's tremendous live act, which has knocked crowds flat from The Fillmore East to the Isle of Wight, further underlines his status as a guitar icon. True To The Blues: The Johnny Winter Story is Winter's first-ever career-spanning box set, capturing Johnny's classic recordings and most electrifying live performances over four decades of rock and roll.

Winter remains a vital recording and touring act in the blues world, having shared the stage with a who's who of the genre's luminaries from Eric Clapton to The Allman Brothers Band. This box features tracks from every phase of Winter's storied career, including several rare and previously unreleased live performances.

Track Listings:

Disc: 1

1. Bad Luck and Trouble

2. Mean Town Blues

3. Mike Bloomfield's Introduction of Johnny Winter _ (live at the Fillmore East)

4. It's My Own Fault _ (live at the Fillmore East)

5. I'm Yours and I'm Hers

6. Mean Mistreater

7. Dallas

8. Be Careful With a Fool

9. Leland Mississippi Blues (live at Woodstock)

10. Memory Pain

11. Highway 61 Revisited

12. Miss Ann

13. Hustled Down in Texas

14. Black Cat Bone (live at The Royal Albert Hall)

15. Johnny B. Goode (live at The Royal Albert Hall)

Disc: 2

1. Eyesight to the Blind (live at Atlanta Pop - previously unreleased)

2. Johnny Winter's Intro (live at Atlanta Pop - previously unreleased)

3. Prodigal Son (live at Atlanta Pop - previously unreleased)

4. Mean Mistreater (live at Atlanta Pop - previously unreleased)

5. Rock and Roll, Hoochie Koo

6. Guess I'll Go Away

7. On the Limb

8. It's My Own Fault (live)

9. Jumpin' Jack Flash (live)

10. Good Morning Little School Girl (live at the Fillmore East)

11. Mean Town Blues (live at the Fillmore East)

Disc: 3

1. Still Alive and Well

2. Rock Me Baby

3. Rock & Roll

4. Rollin' 'Cross the Country

5. Hurtin' So Bad

6. Bad Luck Situation

7. Self Destructive Blues

8. Sweet Papa John

9. Rock & Roll People

10. Harlem Shuffle _ (live with Edgar Winter)

11. Bony Moronie (live)

12. Roll With Me (live)

13. Tired of Tryin'

14. TV Mama

15. Walkin' Thru the Park

16. I Done Got over It _ (live with Muddy Waters & James Cotton)

Disc: 4

1. One Step at a Time

2. Honest I Do

3. Nickel Blues

4. Talk Is Cheap

5. Wolf in Sheep's Clothing

6. Bon Ton Roulet

7. Don't Take Advantage of Me

8. Master Mechanic

9. Mojo Boogie

10. Stranger Blues (live)

11. Illustrated Man

12. Hard Way

13. Highway 61 Revisited (live at the Bob Dylan 30th Anniversary Concert Celebration)

14. Maybellene _ (featuring Vince Gill)

15. Dust My Broom _ (featuring Derek Trucks)