Mark Knopfler | Tracker | 2 CD/ 2 Vinyl LP/DVD Box Set

  • Sale
  • $ 99.99
  • Regular price $ 124.98

"The album title 'Tracker' arrived out of me trying to find my way over the decades. Out of me tracking time - looking at people, places and things from my past, and out of the process of tracking as in recording tracks in the studio." - Mark Knopfler

Mark Knopfler's eighth solo album Tracker on Limited Edition Box Set _ featuring album on 2LP/CD plus bonus CD w/ 6 extra tracks, DVD w/ exclusive video/interviews, numbered art print & 6 photographic prints!

  • Limited Edition 2LP, 2CD, DVD Deluxe Edition Box Set
  • Original Tracker album on 2 x 180g vinyl LP's & CD
  • Bonus CD containing 6 extra tracks
  • Vinyl mastered by Chris Bellman at Bernie Grundman Mastering
  • DVD containing exclusive documentary video & interviews
  • Numbered art print
  • 6 photographic prints 

Mark Knopfler's eagerly-anticipated eighth solo album, Tracker, follows-up 2012's Privateering and was recorded as usual at the celebrated singer-guitarist's British Grove Studios in West London, and produced by Knopfler with his longtime collaborator Guy Fletcher. The record features 11 new songs which are inspired by a wide range of subjects and contain Mark's usual wryly but accurately observed vignettes wrapped up in a musical accompaniment of distinctive subtlety.

In addition to Knopfler on all guitars and Fletcher playing all keyboards, the album features a stellar core band of Glenn Worf (bass), Ian 'Ianto' Thomas (drums), John McCusker (fiddle) and Mike McGoldrick (flute). Further contributors include Nigel Hitchcock (saxophone), Phil Cunningham (accordian), Tom Walsh (trumpet) and Ruth Moody (vocals), leader of Canadian roots trio the Wailin' Jennys. Moody duets on the album's closing duet "Wherever You Go."

Subject matter on the record is drawn from characters and situations, both real life and imagined, in Knopfler's own experiences. "Basil" is inspired by the poet Basil Bunting, whom Mark encountered when he was a teenage copy boy working on the Newcastle Evening Chronicle, and "Beryl" is about the Liverpudlian writer Beryl Bainbridge.

This lavish box set edition of Tracker is extremely limited and features the original album across 2LPs and CD plus a bonus CD with six extra tracks (".38 Special," "My Heart Has Never Changed," "Terminal of Tribute To," "Heart of Oak," "Time Will End All Sorrow" and "Oklahoma Ponies"), DVD containing an exclusive video and interviews, numbered art print, and six photographic prints.


Track Listing:

1. Laughs and Jokes and Drinks and Smokes

2. Basil

3. River Towns

4. Skydiver

5. Mighty Man

6. Broken Bones

7. Long Cool Girl

8. Lights of Taormina

9. Silver Eagle

10. Beryl

11. Wherever I Go featuring Ruth Moody


Bonus Tracks

12. .38 Special

13. My Heart Has Never Changed

14. Terminal of Tribute To

15. Heart of Oak

16. Time Will End All Sorrow

17. Oklahoma Ponies (traditional melody, lyrics and arrangement by Mark Knopfler)