Nina Simone | To Be Free: The Nina Simone Story | CD Set

  • Sale
  • $ 29.99
  • Regular price $ 39.99

Packed with 54 rarities, live cuts, and hits, this 3-CD/1-DVD collection provides a career retrospective of the amazing Nina Simone including her work on Bethlehem, Colpix, Philips, RCA, CTI, and Elektra. The set showcases her sultry vocal style both onstage and in the studio, boasting 8 previously unreleased tracks and an unreleased documentary filmed in 1970. Also included is a booklet with an introduction by NPR's –Rock & Roll" historian Ed Ward and liner notes by Nina's biographer David Nathan.

Disc 1

  1. Mood Indigo
  2. I Loves You Porgy
  3. My Baby Just Cares For Me
  4. Nobody Knows You When You're Down And Out
  5. You Can Have Him
  6. Wild Is The Wind
  7. Trouble In Mind
  8. When Malindy Sings/Swing Low Sweet Chariot; When Malindy Sings\ Swing Low Sweet Chariot
  9. See Line Woman (Album Version)
  10. Pirate Jenny
  11. Don't Let Me Be Misunderstood (Album Version)
  12. I Put A Spell On You (Album Version)
  13. Ne Me Quitte Pas (Album Version)
  14. Feeling Good
  15. Four Women (Album Version)
  16. My Man's Gone Now
  17. I Wish I Knew How It Would Feel To Be Free
  18. To Love Somebody (Album Version)
  19. Sunday In Savannah
  20. Backlash Blues (2005 remix)


Disc 2

  1. Mississippi Goddam (Unedited version from original live concert)
  2. In The Morning
  3. Ain't Got No / I Got Life (previously unreleased alternate version)
  4. Do What You Gotta Do
  5. Seems I'm Never Tired Lovin' You
  6. Just Like Tom Thumb's Blues (Original Master/Mix)
  7. The Times They Are A Changin'
  8. Turn! Turn! Turn! (To Everything There Is A Season)
  9. The Other Woman
  10. I Think It's Going To Rain Today
  11. Save Me
  12. Revolution
  13. To Be Young, Gifted And Black (2005 remix)
  14. Black Is The Color Of My True Love's Hair (Music From The Original Motion Picture Soundtrack)
  15. Westwind
  16. Who Knows Where The Time Goes
  17. Suzanne


Disc 3

  1. No Opportunity Necessary, No Experience Needed
  2. Just Like A Woman
  3. Here Comes The Sun
  4. Tanywey
  5. Funkier Than A Mosquito's Tweeter
  6. My Sweet Lord / Today Is A Killer; My Sweet Lord\ Today Is A Killer
  7. Let It Be Me (Live)
  8. Poppies
  9. Mr. Bojangles
  10. I Want A Little Sugar In My Bowl
  11. Nina
  12. Zungo
  13. Baltimore (Album Version)
  14. A Single Woman (Album Version)


Disc 4

  1. Introduction (To Be Free DVD)
  2. Nina Part 1 (To Be Free DVD)
  3. Nina Part 2 (To Be Free DVD)
  4. Nina Part 3 (To Be Free DVD)
  5. Nina Part 4 (To Be Free DVD)
  6. Nina Part 5 (To Be Free DVD)
  7. Credits (To Be Free DVD)