Red Hot Chili Peppers | Californication | 180g Vinyl 2LP

  • $ 36.98

Ranked 399/500 on Rolling Stone Magazine's 500 Greatest Albums of All Time.

Californication is the seventh studio album by great American rock band Red Hot Chili Peppers.
It was released on June 8, 1999, on Warner Bros. Records and was produced by the much admired Rick Rubin.

Californication marked the return of John Frusciante, who had previously appeared on Mother's Milk and Blood Sugar Sex Magik; to replace Dave Navarro as the band's guitarist. Frusciante's return was credited with changing the band's sound altogether, producing a notable shift in style from the music recorded with Navarro.

The album's subject material incorporated various sexual innuendos commonly associated with the band, but also contained more varied themes than previous albums, including lust, death, contemplations of suicide, California, drugs, globalization, and travel.

Californication is the Chili Peppers' most commercially successful studio release, with over 16 million copies sold worldwide, and more than 5 million in the United States alone. As of 2002, the album had sold over 4 million copies in Europe.

The record produced several hits for the band, including "Otherside", "Californication" and the Grammy Award-winning "Scar Tissue". Californication peaked at number three on the U.S. Billboard 200. The record marked a significant change in style for the band, displaying a decidedly more spiritual rock n roll side.

LP Track Listing:

1. Around the World

2. Parallel Universe

3. Scar Tissue

4. Otherside

5. Get on Top

6. Californication

7. Easily

8. Porcelain

9. Emit Remmus

10. I Like Dirt

11. This Velvet Glove

12. Savior

13. Purple Stain

14. Right on Time

15. Road Trippin'