Stevie Ray Vaughan | In Step | 200g Vinyl LP

  • $ 34.99


200-Gram Vinyl Pressed At Quality Record Pressings


All-Analog Mastering By Ryan K. Smith At Sterling Sound From The Original Tapes

Deluxe Tip-On Gatefold Jacket From Stoughton Printing

On 1989’s In Step, Vaughan found his own songwriting voice, blending blues, soul, and rock in unique ways, and writing with startling emotional honesty. Yes, there are a few covers, all well chosen, but the heart of the album rests in the songs he cowrote with Doyle Bramhall, the man who penned the Soul to Soul highlight “Change It.” Fueled by a desire to make up for lost time and delight in his reawakened commitment to life and sobriety, Vaughan turned in what many consider his greatest artistic statement, an album ensconced in sweat, soul, determination, and not an ounce of filler.

'“Travis Walk” offers a heady rush of flat-picking, “The House is Rockin’” is full-tilt roots-boogie, “Let Me Love You Baby” and “Leave My Girl Alone” are sweet blues epiphanies, and the nine-minute instrumental “Riviera Paradise” is a truly soulful mix of blues and jazz. By now, just a year before his untimely death, Vaughan had also tamed his bawling voice into a rich instrument. In short, this 1989 session is Vaughan at his artistic peak.

In Step remains one of the five greatest blues records of the past quarter century. There’s not a link in this chain that wasn’t absolute first-rate. The absolute best that money can buy. We’re passionate about the blues AND Stevie Ray and the passion shows up here in spades.

LP Track Listing:

1. The House Is Rockin'

2. Crossfire

3. Tightrope

4. Let Me Love You Baby

5. Leave My Girl Alone

6. Travis Walk

7. Wall Of Denial

8. Scratch-n-sniff

9. Love Me Darlin'

10. Riviera Paradise