The Cure | The Head On The Door | 180g Vinyl LP - 2016 Reissue

  • $ 21.99

The Head on the Door is the sixth studio album by British band The Cure, originally released in 1985 on Polydor. It was preceded by the single "In Between Days" which had reached No. 15 in the UK singles chart. The Head on the Door was depicted by the Melody Maker as "a collection of pop songs". With its variety of styles, it allowed the group to reach a wider audience in both Europe and North America. In the UK, it quickly became their most successful album to date, climbing to #7 in the albums chart.

The album is the first to feature drummer Boris Williams. Bassist Simon Gallup, who had previously worked on three major Cure albums of the early 80's, was called back before the recording. In 1985, the band became a quintet with instrumentalist Porl Thompson as fifth official member. The Head on the Door is the first Cure album where all the songs are composed by singer and guitarist Robert Smith only.


LP Track Listing:

1. In Between Days
2. Kyoto Song
3. The Blood
4. Six Different Ways
5. Push
6. The Baby Screams
7. Close to Me
8. A Night Like This
9. Screw
10. Sinking