The Cure | The Top | 180g Vinyl LP - 2016 Reissue

  • $ 21.99

The Top is the fifth studio album by English band The Cure, originally released on April 30th, 1984 by Fiction Records, on Polydor. After recording a psychedelic album Blue Sunshine for the one-off project The Glove during the summer 1983, Robert Smith finished off the year composing and working on two other studio albums at the same time: The Top for the Cure and Hyæna for Siouxsie and the Banshees. Smith was still the official guitarist of Siouxsie and the Banshees while he wrote The Top. The album was eclectic and saw Smith using all kinds of instruments, including violin and flute. "Bird Mad Girl" is in a Spanish style while "The Wailing Wall" contains Middle-Eastern undertones.

For The Top, Smith teamed up with another Cure founding member Lol Tolhurst who had given up drums for keyboards, and new member drummer Andy Anderson who had previously performed on the UK top 10 single "The Lovecats". Porl Thompson was credited for playing saxophone on "Give Me It". All the songs are credited by Smith bar three tracks co-written with Tolhurst, "The Caterpillar", "Bird Mad Girl" and "Piggy in the Mirror".


LP Track Listing:

1. Shake Dog Shake

2. Birdmad Girl

3. Wailing Wall

4. Give Me It

5. Dressing Up

6. The Caterpillar

7. Piggy In The Mirror

8. The Empty World

9. Bananafishbones

10. The Top