Various Artists | Roll Columbia: Woody Guthrie's 26 Northwest | 2 CD Set

  • Sale
  • $ 21.99
  • Regular price $ 24.98

Roll Columbia: Woody Guthrie’s 26 Northwest Songs is a trove of new discoveries, and a celebration of Guthrie’s genius and lasting contributions to both the history and musical traditions of the Pacific Northwest. In 1941, the Bonneville Power Administration commissioned Guthrie to write songs to help promote to the public the construction of dams along the Columbia River. 75 years later, present-day artists with ties to the Pacific Northwest who have been influenced by this fruitful time in Guthrie’s career have gathered together to record their own interpretations.

Roll Columbia is the first and only complete collection of these 26 songs, including nine that had never before been recorded, such as “Eleckatricity and All” and “Portland Town to Klamath Falls,” as well as classic Guthrie tunes “Pastures of Plenty” and “Hard Travelin’.” Featuring: Carl Allen, Kristin Andreassen, Peter Buck, Darrin Craig, Steve Einhorn, Chris Funk, Tony Furtado, David Grisman, Tracy Grisman, Ben Hunter, Michael Hurley, Al James, Orville Johnson, Scott McCaughey, John Moen, Cahalen Morrison, Bill Murlin and Fine Company, Jon Neufeld, Kate Power, George Rezendes, Pharis and Jason Romero, Caitlin Belem Romtvedt, David Romtvedt, Joe Seamons, Martha Scanlan, Timberbound, and Annalisa Tornfelt and the Tornfelt Sisters.

Track Listing

Disc 1
1. Pastures of Plenty 3:18
2. Oregon Line (at Oregon Trail) 3:46
3. Lumber Is King 4:23
4. Out Past the End of the Line 2:51
5. Portland Town to Klamath Falls 4:18
6. Eleckatricity and All 1:50
7. Hard Travelin’ 2:11
8. Columbia Talkin’ Blues (Talking Columbia) 3:06
9. e Talkin’ Blues 3:17
10. Jackhammer Blues (Jackhammer John) 4:08
11. Roll On Columbia, Roll On 4:06
12. e Biggest ing at Man Has Ever Done
(e Great Historical Bum) 4:35
13. Jackhammer Blues (Jackhammer John) 3:30
14. Guys on the Grand Coulee Dam 3:11
15. Mile an’ a Half from th’ End of th’ Line (End of My Line) 3:30

Disc 2
1. Columbia’s Waters 4:06
2. Ballad of the Great Grand Coulee (e Grand Coulee Dam) 3:11
3. Washington Talkin’ Blues 3:50
4. It Takes a Married Man to Sing a Worried Song 2:39
5. Ramblin' Blues (Portland Town) 3:06
6. New Found Land 3:25
7. White Ghost Train 3:58
8. e Song of the Grand Coulee Dam (Way Up in at Northwest 3:05
9. A Ramblin’ Round 2:55
10. Roll, Columbia, Roll 3:12
11. Grand Coulee Powder Monkey 4:53
12. e Ballad of Jackhammer John 7:50
13. Pastures of Plenty 6:09